4/22/14 and 5/5/14 at the Oakland Coliseum

I have two days to share with you in this blog entry. Both are days of of very frustrating batting practice.

Since there is not much to tell about either game and I don’t have many pictures from either game, I figured I would combine them into one small entry, since I don’t want to bore you with all of the details. I had originally chosen these two games because I thought they would be great games to ballhawk at. When I chose my 24 games back in December, I wanted to only get games that would be good for ballhawking, so I made sure to include them in my list. Ready? They both sucked in terms of ballhawking. It was horrible. Simply put, I was shut out both times.

Let’s start off with the Tuesday, April 22nd game. I had been planning on going to the game the day before as well, but my high school team had a game the day before, so my mom and sister went to the A’s game in my place.

My mom and I got to the Coliseum about 45 minutes before the gates opened. And to top it all off, gates did not open until 5:42, 7 minutes after the scheduled 5:35 opening.

Once the gates FINALLY opened, I ran out to the right field bleachers and threw on my Rangers stuff. Over the course of BP, I saw one (1) ball go over the fence in the 15 minutes of BP that took place after the stadium opened. That one ball just got over the wall in right-center, flying way under the right field bleachers.

Even though I had my Rangers stuff on, it did not do any good. The idea of wearing the visiting team’s gear is to catch their attention when they are scanning the crowd to toss a ball up. On this day, the Rangers players did not once think about tossing a ball up at any point during BP anywhere in the stadium. And trust me, I was keeping an eye out, because the second I saw one player toss a ball up, I was running over there to get him to toss me a ball.

Anyway, BP ended just before 6pm, 15 minutes earlier than it usually does for visitors in Oakland. After BP came to a close, I picked up a new scarf for myself. Here is one side, that says BLEACHER DIE HARDS, with RF on one side and LF on the other.

IMG_8532

This is the other side. Why does it say STAY? Because the A’s need to stAy in Oakland!

IMG_8533

You may wonder whose #55 jersey I am wearing. In fact, Will was wearing the same jersey on this fine Tuesday. It’s Rich Thompson, who pitched in one game for Oakland back in 2012.

IMG_8552

I won’t share a lot of pictures from this game with you, simply because there are not a lot. Here is one, featuring starter Tommy Milone.

IMG_8578

In 6 innings, he allowed 5 hits and 3 runs, while walking 4 batters and striking out 1.IMG_8590

I don’t know why, but I kind of liked this picture of A’s second baseman Eric Sogard.

IMG_8744

 

Ryan Cook came into the game in the 7th for the Athletics. His entrance song is A Warrior’s Call by Volbeat. So of course, Ben Christensen had to let his hair down for a bit.

IMG_8816

IMG_8817

As did Wiggi!

IMG_8821

Despite the loss and blown save in the 9th by Luke Gregerson, it was a fun night!

IMG_8826

Now on to May 5th… I don’t have the pictures that my dad took on his camera, but I do have a few shots from my phone, so I wanted to make sure to share them with you.

Originally, I was going to go to this game with my mom. However, she was feeling under the weather, so I went with my dad. We got free tickets to this game as a bonus for locking in our season tickets back in December a couple of sections to the right of the Mariners dugout. I didn’t come close to anything during BP except for this ball.

20140531-234945-85785409.jpg

It was a BP home run hit by the Mariners that I was hoping someone would grab and toss me. When a groundskeeper walked by, I politely called out to him, asking for the ball but he told me that he couldn’t throw it that high, despite the fact that I saw HIM throw someone in LF a ball just minuets earlier. So… I got shut out for BP.

I then joined up with my dad and we got some dinner. Then, we went to our seats, where we enjoyed the first two innings. I then used the MLB At the Ballpark App to upgrade our seats at a cheap price to the 4th row behind the Mariners dugout.

20140531-234947-85787234.jpg

That was our view for the last 7 innings. You’d think it would be the perfect spot to get a 3rd out ball, right? Well after every inning, the Mariners player who recorded the 3rd out would toss the ball to Robinson Cano and he would find the smallest kid to give the ball to. I guess I’m not a small kid anymore.

So I had a hard time getting a 3rd out ball. In the 9th, I turned my attention to getting an umpire view and avoiding the shutout.
20140531-234949-85789585.jpg

 

It almost worked. However, the umpire gave a ball to someone else. I then went back behind the dugout to get this picture,

20140531-234953-85793355.jpg

I then saw a random stadium employee with a ball in his hand. I asked him for the ball and we made eye contact and he nodded at me. He then scanned the dugout and flipped the ball to someone 50 feet to my right. Dang…

What a frustrating start to the ballhawking year, huh?

Remember, I’m publishing a new blog entry every day! Check out the list to find out when my next game entry will be!

  • Monday, June 16th: 4/26/14 at Banner Island Ballpark (Beyond the Outfield Fence)
  • Tuesday, June 17th: 5/4/14 at Banner Island Ballpark (Beyond the Outfield Fence)
  • Wednesday, June 18th: 5/10/14 at the Oakland Coliseum
  • Thursday, June 19th: 5/11/14 at the Oakland Coliseum
  • Friday, June 20th: 5/25/14 at John Thurman Field (Beyond the Outfield Fence)
  • Saturday, June 21st: 5/30/14 at the Oakland Coliseum
  • Sunday, June 22nd: 6/13/14 at the Oakland Coliseum
  • 4th and 7th games this year (3rd and 4th MLB Games)
  • 0 balls at this game
  • 1 ball in 4 MLB games this season = 0.25 Balls Per Game
  • 1 baseball this season
  • 69 Lifetime MLB Baseballs
  • 179 Lifetime Baseballs

2013top100

Nick Badders is a blogger for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @RFNick149. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook. This blog entry was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

