Am I going to the playoffs?

A lot of people have been asking me that lately.

The answer? YES!

1733_oakland_athletics-champion-2013

Before I start off this entry, I just wanted to share with you once again the article that Scott Ostler wrote for the San Fransisco Chronicle about the Right Field Bleachers. If you haven’t already checked it out, go do so!

Anyway…

I have a FULL Postseason Strip, so I will be at every A’s home playoff game from the same seat of the 2nd row of Section 149!

Right after I published this entry, I headed out the door and am on my way to Oakland for Game 1 of the ALDS. After that, I know I have 1 more game. Maybe 2 more. I could potentially attend 11 postseason games this year. And hopefully, that last game that I attend, has the Oakland A’s celebrating a World Series championship.

One of the things that I am looking forward to the most in the postseason in the atmosphere. I’m sure you remember me talking about the buzzing crowd last year when I attended ALDS Game 3. At the time, there was controversy because Game 3 of the ALDS had sold out in less than a day. Ownership refused to take the tarps off the 3rd deck, but the Coliseum was still louder than ever, with everyone waving their yellow rally towels. This year, the A’s opened up the 3rd deck. They took off almost all the tarps, leaving Mount Davis tarped. However, this adds about 12,000 “new seats” to the Coliseum. This puts the Capacity at 48,146. That brings it from having the 2nd smallest capacity of any stadium, to having the 7th largest capacity of any MLB team, 4th of the teams playing in the LDS. If the A’s do make the World Series, I woudl expect all of the tarps to come off. That would give the O.co Coliseum the highest seating capacity of any Major League stadium.

Last night, before I went to bed, I saw the A’s tweet out this photo.

BVsuJwVCMAE-PGN

In just a few short hours, that place is going to be rocking. The stadium is going to fill up, and with everyone waving their rally towels, the place is going to be rocking! They officially sold out a few days ago, but they have had only single seats open for over a week now. I can’t even begin to imagine what the stadium will be like. 48,000 screaming fans. By far, the largest baseball game I’ve ever been to. I look back on how crazy it was last year in the ALDS and can’t even begin to imagine what it will be like this time around.

And for those of your whose favorite team didn’t make it to the playoffs, and either don’t have a team to root for, or have already chosen another team, here are 10 reasons as to why you should root for the A’s in OAKtober.

Hopefully I’ll be able to get postseason entries up within a couple of days of the game. Conveniently, I didn’t have school yesterday, nor do I have it today. The next potential home game would be on Thursday, October 10th. Right now, I’m rooting for the Rays like CRAZY to beat the Red Sox and advance to the ALCS. If and when the A’s beat the Tigers, games 1 and 2 are on a Saturday and Sunday, with games 6 and 7 on a Saturday and Sunday, with games 3, 4, and 5 on a Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. If the Red Sox are in the ALCS, they have home field advantage, which would have them playing any and all LCS games on the weekend. If the Rays beat the Red Sox in the ALCS and they match up against the A’s, I would not have to worry about homework and school when attending games.

Thank You all for reading this entry and LET’S GO OAKLAND!

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a blogger for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook. This blog entry was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

