9/20/13 at the Oakland Coliseum

3 regular season home games left for the A’s…

I had tickets to all 3!

As soon as school ended at 3:05, my dad and sister picked me up and we were off to Oakland!

The 3 of us got to the Coliseum around 3:45 for the 4:30 gate opening, where Ryan Dalton was already there, along with Carlos, a Die-Hard A’s fan who has a mini Season Ticket plan and comes down from ARIZONA to Oakland every so often to see the A’s play! He’s in the yellow jersey.

IMG_1383

I’m sure you notice the metal detectors and white tent. A few days prior, the A’s had announced that they would be implementing them, per MLB protocol. Turns out they were just getting a head start, as they will be mandatory for the postseason, but not the regular season.

By the way, I HAVE A POSTSEASON STRIP. So… Any and all postseason ames that the A’s play in, I will be enjoying from Section 149, Row 28 (2) Seat 7! How awesome is that!?

The gates opened at 4:35, as expected, where I headed to Left Field, It was around this time that the pitchers started jogging.

IMG_1386

At the time, Jed Lowrie was in the cage.

IMG_1388

Left Field was pretty much dead in terms of hit and thrown balls, so I headed back to right field.

Sean Doolittle was one of the players roaming the RF area.

IMG_1405

Grant Balfour tossed a couple of balls to the LF Bleachers, but I wasn’t able to get close, as he was only tossing to a packed corner near the foul pole.

IMG_1450

Jesse Chavez, Yoenis Cespedes, and Pedro Figueroa were some of the other players patrolling LF.

The force is strong in this one.

Like I mentioned earlier, LF was dead, so I spent most of BP in right field.

Soon after I got back to RF, a ball was hit to Michael Choice that I called out for, he turned around and tossed it to me. It fell inches short of my outstretched glove. AHHHH!!!

He then tried again a few moments later. SHORT AGAIN!!!

5 minutes after that, Sonny Gray tossed a ball to me. BUT HE THREW IT SHORT TOO.

I was literally reaching as far out as I could. But, no. 3 balls I should have gotten. 3 short throws…

Easily the best hitter of the day was Brandon Moss, who hit at least 5 balls into the RF seats. The first of those balls was caught by Ryan, and it was a HARD hit ball! Great snag on his part!

IMG_1537

Shortly after that, A.J. Griffin fielded a ball hit by Moss and tossed it to me for my first ball on the day!
IMG_1568

I then gave it away to a younger kid nearby.

In shallow center field, Bullpen Coach Darren Bush (right), Pitching Coach Curt Young (left), and Translator and Coach Ariel Prieto (center) were chatting and fielding balls hit near them.
IMG_1594

Sean Doolittle didn’t toss many balls into the stands, which surprised me.

IMG_1597

Like I mentioned, Brandon Moss was bombing them out!

IMG_1607

The last ball he hit was hit landed in the upper corner of section 150, which is the rightmost you can get in the right field bleachers. I scrambled over and picked it up and had 2 balls on the day!

Eric Sogard was making some solid contact as well.

IMG_1617

But Jemile Weeks spent a lot of time BUNTING

IMG_1648

And not hitting balls out of the infield…

IMG_1669

Around 5pm, the Twins players came out to stretch and throw.

IMG_1682

Meanwhile, the A’s were wrapping up BP.

IMG_1693

Sean Doolittle, A.J. Griffin, and Sonny Gray pretty much spent all of BP together.
IMG_1750

Most of the stadium was pretty empty.
IMG_1776

Soon, the Twins players grabbed balls and began throwing.

IMG_1801

IMG_1821

But I chose not to head over, since A’s BP was still going on and they weren’t hitting much down the RF line.

IMG_1831

IMG_1840

Stephen Vogt was in the last hitting group for the A’s.

IMG_1899

Along with John Jaso.

IMG_1931

On the last pitch of A’s BP, Sean Doolittle fielded the ball and launched it into the bleachers.
IMG_1934

Which Ryan was able to catch! I want to say he finished with 6 on the day…

Around 5:15 or 5:20, Twins BP got underway.

IMG_1957

Only a few of the Twins players were wearing their BP jerseys, so it was hard for me to identify players.
IMG_1986

Their hitting wasn’t exactly fun to watch either…

IMG_1990

Not many balls reached the seats.IMG_2039

I never noticed this, but my sister got this photo…

IMG_2220

I can’t tell who that is, but he is clearly climbing down onto the out-of-town scoreboard to get the balls that fell short of my glove. Uh… Yeah…

I couldn’t tell who this guy was, but he was tossing a lot of balls up, I think he tossed Ryan a ball.

IMG_2246

20 minutes into Twins BP, Chris Herrmann smashed a ball a section to my left, which I ran over and grabbed for my 3rd ball on the day.

Almost immediately after, I ran over to the right-center field corner and got Cole De Vries to toss my my 4th ball on the day.

Towards the end of BP, another ball was hit to Cole that I called out for. He pointed to the girl next to me and I moved out of the way so she could catch it. BUT HIS TOSS TO HER FELL SHORT. So, he tossed another ball to her THAT SHE FLAT OUT DROPPED. I then asked Cole if he wanted me to catch it for her, and after asking her if that was ok, he tossed the ball right at me BUT IT TOO FELL SHORT.

Holy Toledo. I was at a loss for words. That was the 4TH time a player had tried to toss me a ball and it had fallen short. REALLY??

She ended up getting a ball, and that was pretty much it for BP…
IMG_2260

Here I am with the 3 balls that I kept from BP.

IMG_2265

At some point during BP, my dad noticed Scott Ostler, from the San Francisco Chronicle, interviewing people from the RF bleachers.

IMG_2274

At the time, I was elsewhere, so my dad gave him my contact card and told him where I would be sitting during the game.

Satoshi, who I’ve mentioned many times before (and you’ll see in the picture below) had an awesome mask in honor of Star Wars Night.
IMG_2398

Check it out.

IMG_2393

Isn’t it awesome?

Around 6:20, the sun began setting, which made for some excellent pictures.

IMG_2417

The grounds crew began prepping the field.

IMG_2423

And Derek Norris came to warm up with Darren Bush.

IMG_2476

Meanwhile, since it was Star Wars Night, there were a bunch of Star Wars characters there…

IMG_2543

Soon, most of the Twins players came out to start stretching and warming up.

IMG_2594

IMG_2613

A college band was playing the national anthem.

IMG_2873

It was cool to see the entire team lined up along the dugout, with a green jersey or jacket on.

IMG_2874

The Twins starting pitchers finished his final warm up tosses in the pen.
IMG_2925

And we were all set to go! Bartolo Colon was pitching for the A’s.

IMG_3098

And he pitched phenomenally.
IMG_3131

The Twins offense was pretty much kept quiet all game long.IMG_3283

The A’s started the scoring in the 2nd inning. After a Cespedes homer and a Derek Norris double, Josh Reddick singled in Norris.

IMG_3342

IMG_3353

This was followed up by a Daric Barton single, putting the A’s ahead 3-0.
IMG_3445

Coco ended up flying out to end the inning.
IMG_3501

Around the 4th inning, Scott Ostler stopped by and asked me some questions. An SF Chronicle photographer was at my side soon thereafter!
IMG_3555

Derek Norris singled to open up the 4th inning for Oakland, where he later scored on an Alberto Callaspo single.
IMG_3850

The A’s then exploded, scoring 5 runs in the 5th inning, on 3 hits, a walk, an error, a wild pitch, and a hit-by-pitch.

A few innings later, the wave started up. I don’t like the wave. It think the wave should go away for ever and ever and ever. I’m not the only one… Here is Left Field Dan, with his MAGNIFICENT sign!

IMG_4416

The A’s Hall of Fame race also happened!

IMG_4706

Rickey ended up winning!

20130928-004014.jpg

My sister and I got a picture together. AWWWWW!

IMG_4899

In the top of the 9th, 2nd baseman Jemile Weeks entered the game in Center Field, because why not? Actually, he played a lot of CF in AAA this season.

20130928-004046.jpg

And yes, a ball was hit to him.

Evan Scribner came in to relieve Tommy Milone, and after allowing a double, he settled down, retiring the next 3 men he faced, giving the A’s an 11-0 win!

IMG_5198

This was a huge win for the green and gold!

IMG_5210

Why? It put their magic number at 2, with 2 home games left to play!
IMG_5212

James was pretty excited!

IMG_5232

As soon as the game came to a close, they began setting up for the Star Wars fireworks.

IMG_5264

Since I don’t like Star Wars and my sister and dad didn’t care about the fireworks, we headed out. It ended up being a good decision, as getting out of the parking lot was E-Z!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 35th Game this Year (22nd MLB Game)
  • 4 Balls at this Game
  • 38 balls in 22 MLB games this season = 1.72 Balls Per Game
  • 118 Baseballs this season
  • 66 Lifetime MLB Baseballs
  • 161 Lifetime Baseballs

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

One comment

  1. Ácbéam (@Acbeam)

    Very nice blog! Way to rock that throwback cap, too! Interesting to see Griffin throwing left-handed. I guess he was giving his troublesome pitching arm a rest. (You may recall that he was inactive during the ALDS.)

    Like

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

