9/7/13 at AT&T Park

Why would I want to go to AT&T Park to ballhawk? Good question…

For starters, I found incredibly cheap tickets on StubHub. Why did I even look for tickets to this game? Well former Athletic Brandon McCarthy was pitching, plus the D-Back have former Athletics Eric Chavez, Cliff Pennington, Brad Ziegler, and Trevor Cahill, along with Heath Bell, who is super-cool!

It was a 6:05 game, so my goal was to get there around 3pm for the 4 o’clock gate opening. It didn’t help that it was “Giants Sombrero Day”

My dad and I left around 2:15 to San Fran and made it to the Bay Bridge by 2:50.

IMG_9662

What’s so special about it? Just a few days prior, a new span of it had opened up, so this was a relatively new bridge.

IMG_9663

It wasn’t all that special, but it was still cool overall to see.

IMG_9673

We got to AT&T Park around 3:15, where I immediately jumped in line. The line was forming FAST!

IMG_9698

And there were A LOT of people in front of me!

IMG_9705

Earlier in the day on Twitter, I had contacted Spencer Sanborn, who frequents AT&T Park, and he suggested that I go into the Marina Gate, which is always a No Giveaway gate. How amazing is that????

My dad wanted to stay in line, so I made my way over to the Marina Gate, but first I stopped and said hey to McCovey Cove Dave!

20130920-000332.jpg

Splash Hit Steve was hanging out on the Portwalk, so I spent about half an hour talking to them before heading on my way! I assume you remember them both from BallhawkFest?

It was cool to take a peak in at BP through the fence!

20130920-000257.jpg

When I got to the Marina Gate, I was shocked…

20130920-000455.jpg

THAT WAS THE LINE 15 MINUTES BEFORE THE GATES OPENED!!!

Huge thanks to Spencer for the suggestion! If you don’t already, go ahead and give him a follow on Twitter!

When the gates opened at 4:05, I got my bag checked and went to get my ticket scanned. But the scanner was BROKEN. And I couldn’t change lines. So I was stuck in line for 10 minutes waiting for them to get a new scanner. Way to go Giants.

When I got in, the Giants were in mid-BP.

IMG_9751

… So I threw on my San Jose Giants hat and headed to LF.

IMG_9747

There was a guy patrolling the Left-Center field area that was picking up every ball hit in the area.

IMG_9790

And he was giving them all to kids with gloves.

IMG_9798

After every kid had gotten a ball, I politely asked him for the ball that he had just picked up, and he said sure, but right before he went to toss me the ball, a little kid acme running up screaming BALL BALL BALL. So yeah. no ball for me…

IMG_9813

Giants BP winded down pretty quickly. Nothing much hit the seats, nobody was tossing anything up. The D-Backs pitchers came out to throw around 4:15.

IMG_9842

Where I noticed Trevor Cahill.

IMG_9892

I made my way over there, but had no luck despite my D-Backs hat.

I then moved back to LF to turn my attention to the D-Backs hitting.

IMG_0067

This guy was patrolling the RF area and he was tossing NOTHING up. I don’t know what it was, but I had no luck at all.

IMG_0100

Kirk Gibson was walking around the outfield for most of BP, chatting with the players.

IMG_0126

While this guy was pitching BP.

IMG_0236

I nabbed a front row spot early on in D-Backs BP and pretty much stayed there. Virtually no balls were clearing the fence. However, a lot of balls were landing on the warning track such as this one.

IMG_0275

Because AT&T Park allows any and all retrieval devices, just about any ball that lands on the warning track is scooped up by a retrieval device. Players don’t even bother trying to get balls within 10ft of the wall. So despite the fact I could identify all the players, it was pretty much useless. I saw at least 7 different cup tricks, along with 3 fishing nets and a lightbulb changer. See? EVERYTHING goes.

You see the ball in the picture above? Well it had been sitting there for quite a while, and before I knew it, the man known on Twitter as @CS_Darrow was at my side! I’ve mentioned him a few times before on this blog, as I’ve met him at games in Oakland before. He had his cup trick ready, which he lowered down onto the field to get the ball!

20130920-000537.jpg

He had to knock it quite a bit closer, but his cup trick works VERY well!

That happened around 5pm. So for the first hour of BP, I was shutout.

IMG_0279

It wasn’t exactly great… Then again, I had never snagged a ball at AT&T Park and since it is so hard to snag in, any number of balls should be considered a huge success!
IMG_9931

The first hitter in the last group for the D-Backs was Eric Chavez. The night before, Giants Pitcher Yusmeiro Petit came within 1 out of throwing a perfect game. Who broke it up? Former Oakland Athletic Eric Chavez! On this first pitch he saw in BP, he crushed the ball in my direction. It landed about 10 feel behind me, where I grabbed it! My first ever ball at AT&T Park!

IMG_0331

BP wrapped up within 10 minutes, where I headed to my seat in Section 148. Below, this was the scene.

IMG_0341

After a little while, former Athletic Brandon McCarthy came out to stretch and warm up!

IMG_0350

I was REALLY looking forward to seeing him pitch!

IMG_0356

Meanwhile, out on the Portwalk, I saw McCovey Covey Dave rocking a Giants sombrero!

IMG_0366

Inside, players were beginning to stretch.

IMG_0376

Meanwhile, B-Mac was warming up in the bullpen.

IMG_0405

Matt Cain was warming up in the Giants bullpen.

IMG_0416

So, yes. Matt Cain was the starting pitcher for the Giants.

IMG_0450

Hunter “The Definition of Awkward” Pence, was playing in right field.
IMG_0486

Eric Chavez was hitting cleanup in the Giants order, and when he came to bat in the first inning, he was met with a mammoth chorus of boos.

IMG_0519

While he was at the plate, Hector Sanchez threw out Paul Goldschmidt trying to steal.

IMG_0529

This brought the top of the 1st inning to a close.

IMG_0531

Brandon McCarthy headed out to the mound to pitch for Arizona.

IMG_0545

Who was the 2nd hitter in the Giants lineup? Former Athletic Marco Scuuuuuuuuuutaro!

IMG_0585

The Giants went down 1-2-3 in the first inning.

IMG_0592

Around the roofline of the stadium, the Giants have flags hanging to represent each MLB team. I had a pretty easy time finding the A’s one.

IMG_0624

The Giants emphasized all game long that you could Tweet or Instagram a picture with the hashtag #ATTPark for the chance for your photo to be show on the scoreboard. However, it appears that the Giants don’t know how to spell hashtag… #Hastag

IMG_0697

Gerardo Parra was playing right field for the Diamondbacks.

IMG_0760

Oh, and you know how I mentioned it was Sombrero Giveaway night? Well that’s because it was “Fiesta day” or something like that. Maybe Hispanic Heritage night? I don’t know… Bu the Giants were wearing their Gigantes jerseys, which was kinda cool.

IMG_0808

Guess who led off the top of the 3rd inning for Arizona? Brandon McCarthy!

IMG_0821

He grounded out…

IMG_0825

One thing I noticed about the Giants was that they didn’t have an in-game host like Oakland, Stockton, and Modesto do. They had the P.A. Announcer say everything.

IMG_0875

In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Marco Scutaro singled to drive in Brandon Crawford, making it 1-0.

IMG_0898

Arizona countered with a run of their own in the 4th, on a Gerado Parra RBI single.

Brandon McCarthy then stepped to the plate after the Giants intentionally walked Chris Owings.

IMG_1006

He made contact with the ball, hitting it between 1st base and the pitchers mound, breing thrown out by Matt Cain.

IMG_1008

Look at his bat in the photo above. Now check this out…

IMG_1009

That’s like the first time ever that I’ve seen a pitcher break his bat!

IMG_1011

When Hunter Pence lead off the 4th for the Giants, he fouled the 5th pitch of the at bat off, running it out, so catcher Will Nieves decided to have a little fun.

IMG_1019

And stand Pence’s bat straight up for him!

IMG_1020

Before Pablo Sandoval grounded into a double play, he took a pitch a bit inside…

IMG_1028

In the top of the 8th, I set out on a little trek to explore AT&T Park a little bit. I first checked on Dave in McCovey Cove.

IMG_1232

He seemed pretty happy!

IMG_1233

Meanwhile, Heath Bell was protecting the bullpen from any foul balls hit their way.

IMG_1237

Oh, and they announced it was a “sellout”

IMG_1241

I highly doubt that. I know that that is the “paid attendance” but I seriously doubt that every ticket was sold!

IMG_1242

In Right-Center field, they have this Ghirardelli Chocolate cable car.

IMG_1244

I also took notice of these signs.

IMG_1246

The distance of their spring training stadium and old stadium from this very spot.

IMG_1247

As well as Seals stadium and Polo Grounds.

IMG_1249

Among a few others. Cool stuff!

I took a quick peak down by the gate where I entered and decided to go down on my way back.

IMG_1250

In center field, they have a lot of seafood stands.

IMG_1252

In left field, they have this sing. Because as you know, bats will be flying at you in left field.
IMG_1255

Which, FYI is 501 feet from home plate.IMG_1261

In Left-Center field, they have a “Social Media Cafe”

IMG_1254

Where they conviently have a charging station where you can charge your cell phone while watching the game.

IMG_1256

They have chargers for every phone!

IMG_1257

There is also this large video display.

IMG_1258

Here is the control center:

IMG_1259

This is that big screen in the middle.

IMG_1260

Here is a few from under the Coke bottle…

IMG_1262

Here is the giant glove.

IMG_1263

And here is the view of the field from just in front of the giant glove.

IMG_1264

Remember those stairs I talked about earlier? Here is what is at the bottom… Speed pitch and batting cages!

IMG_1266

On my way back to my seat, I spotted Dave again.

IMG_1270

When I got back into my seat, I saw that former Athletic BRAD ZIEGLER was warming up in the D-Backs pen!

IMG_1298

Meanwhile, a guy named Heath Hembree pitched the 9th inning for the Giants…IMG_1310

I thought his name was pretty cool.

IMG_1306

Isn’t it?

IMG_1321

Here’s a random picture of the 3 Giants outfielders talking about who-knows-what.

IMG_1344

Then, Brad Ziegler came in to pitch the 9th for Arizona!

IMG_1394

Like most sidewinders, I love taking pictures of him!

IMG_1400

His unique delivery makes for some interesting shots!

IMG_1413

Every sidearmer and submariner is different, which makes him so cool!

IMG_1418

In front of us was a short roof that overhangs Levi’s Landing. You can tell that a lot of ball have hit it.
IMG_1421

DENTS!!!

IMG_1422

AND MORE DENTS

IMG_1424

One of the Giants hitters to face Ziggy in the 9th was Hector Sanchez. Look what was displayed on the scoreboard when he stepped to the plate…

IMG_1430

I found that pretty funny!

Well Ziegler was able to close it out, sealing a 2-1 win for the D-Backs! My dad and I gathered our stuff and headed out.

What a great day in San Francisco! As much as I don’t like the Giants, this game was a lot of fun!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 34th Game this Year (21st MLB Game)
  • 1 Ball at this Game
  • 34 balls in 21 MLB games this season = 1.62 Balls Per Game
  • 114 Baseballs this season
  • 62 Lifetime MLB Baseballs
  • 157 Lifetime Baseballs

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

