9/1/13 at John Thurman Field

Back at John Thurman for my 2nd to last MiLB game of the season!

First off, I need to apologize to everyone! School and life have been so hectic, I haven’t found time to write blog entries! After this, I still have 5 more games to post about, so look for all of those to be up before the playoff kick off!

Since I am rushing to get everything up, these posts will not be as long as they usually are, but I’m still hoping for decent length.

For the 6:05 game, my dad, sister, and I got there at 4pm. I ran outside behind the stadium and found a ball just sitting in the grass. Ball #1 on the day!

I then headed to foul territory to look for any balls, as we had found one last time, and sure enough! 2 balls in 10 minutes!

IMG_5361

After getting that ball, I hung out in the car until 5, just a few minutes before the gates opened.
IMG_5369

When they gates did open, my sister and I headed to the LF corner. Why? Catch on the field!

IMG_5395

We both had a lot of fun! It was pretty windy, so her hair was blowing everywhere!

IMG_5446

But she was having a lot of fun!

IMG_5453

Al the Almond came over and gave me a high-five…

IMG_5483

Now… Do you remember this photo from about a month ago? Well that was catch on the field at Banner Island Ballpark, so we decided to recreate the photo at Catch on the Field at John Thurman Field!

IMG_5542

I’d call it a success!

This was my 3rd time doing it this year (2nd time in Modesto) and like usual, it was a lot of fun!

IMG_5555

My sister took this cool photo of me!

IMG_5587

And at 5:30, they cleared the field for the players to start warming up.
IMG_5601

I headed over to the tunnel coming from the Nuts clubhouse, where Trevor Story was signing autographs.

IMG_5621

IMG_5625

Then the Nuts players began to warm up.

IMG_5627

I headed over to the Ports bullpen, where I said a quick hello to Seth Frankoff. After I got his pink jersey at this game, plus with how great he and Bess have been to me this season, he is easily my favorite MiLB player.

IMG_5658

The Ports got on the board quickly, with a leadoff triple, followed by a sac fly and a single.

IMG_5678

This was my view to the left for the game.

IMG_5702

Pitching for Modesto was Tyler Gangnon.
IMG_5713

Micheal Ynoa, the A’s #3 prospect, was on the mound for Stockton.

IMG_5739

I had thought he had been shut down for the season, but apparently not! It was a lot of fun to watch him pitch!

IMG_5744

Tanner Peters was the scheduled starter for the game the next day.

IMG_5764

Brian Humphries struck out to end the bottom of the 1st, and on his way in from the dugout, Bruce Maxwell tossed me the ball, making it 3 on the day!

20130921-225214.jpg

Josh Bowman had been the Ports scheduled starter for this game. But Ynoa only pitched 2 innings, so Bowman relieved him in the 3rd.

IMG_5931

The Ports tacked on another run in the 3rd, then added 3 more in the 4th on a Dusty Robinson 3-run bomb.

IMG_5792

Wade Kirkland followed that up with a single.

IMG_5799

But that was all for the Ports in their half of the 4th.

Tyler Gagnon was struggling early on.

IMG_5802

Behind Seth, Bruce Maxwell has to be one of my favorite players this season. He’s tossed me many balls, plus he’s a really cool guy!

IMG_6082

Mike on the Mic was walking around, doing his things! (Which is a great at, might I add!)

IMG_6115

Right before the T-Shirt Toss, Wally the Walnut grabbed a seat on the stairs next to us.

IMG_6162

He and Al like posing for pictures.IMG_6284

In the 5th inning, Geoff Parker relieved Tyler Gagnon.

IMG_6216

The sun was just starting to se around this time, which made for some great pictures.

IMG_6321

Really, REALLY great pictures.

IMG_6294

Games like these are my favorite ones of the year.
IMG_6327

After Tyler Gagnon was relieved in the 5th inning, Geoff Parker struggled as well, allowing 2 runs of his own.

IMG_6334

Josh Bowman, however, pitched very well!

IMG_6347

After Ynoa came out in the 3rd, he allowed 7 hits and 3 runs, while walking 1 and striking out 3!

IMG_6376

After Geoff Parker, Ryan Buch came on to pitch for Modesto.

IMG_6428

He allowed 1 hit over the 2 innings he pitched.

In the Nuts half of the 7th, Will Swanner dribbled a ball back, right at me. I leaned over onto the field and picked it up, for my 4th ball on the day! It was also my 9th foul ball of the year!

Earlier in the game, I stopped by to say hello to Bess, who was sitting with the wives of Bobby Crocker and Josh Bowman.IMG_6496So… Bruce Maxwell led off the 9th inning for the Ports.

IMG_6509

But despite a 2-out walk from Myrio Richard, the Ports were unable to get anything done.

My dad got this cool picture of a well-used pine tar stick.
IMG_6513

It was awesome to have this view for the entire game!

20130921-225310.jpg

Patrick Johnson had come on to replace Ryan Buch in the 9th inning.

IMG_6521

After the game, I was able to go to the Ports dugout, and was lucky enough to get the Ports lineup card.

IMG_6541

It certainly was a great day!

Sorry for such a short entry! My entry about the following day will be up tomorrow, so keep a lookout for that!

Thanks for reading!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 32nd Game of the Year… 12th MiLB Game of the Year
  • 4 balls at this game
  • 74 MiLB Balls in 12 MiLB Games = 6.16 Balls Per MiLB Game
  • 89 Lifetime Minor League baseballs
  • 107 Baseballs this Season
  • 150 total balls

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

3 comments

  1. Tom O'Reilly

    Hi Nick – I enjoy the blog. Any interest in trading any extra west coast MILB balls for east coast? If so, please email me: oemtom (at) aol .com. Thanks. – Tom

    Like

  2. Tom O'Reilly

    No problem. Thanks for your response. If you ever change your mind or know of anyone else interested in trading, please let me know. Otherwise, happy ballhawking!

    By the way, very cool in your 9/2/13 game post that you took advantage of someone popping balls over the fence, especially the fact that one was an Appalachian League ball at a California League stadium. Nice!

    Like

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

