8/23/13 at Banner Island Ballpark

It had been 9 days since my last baseball game. Let’s go!

About a week prior, I found out about this thing called “Pink Night” at the Ports game on August 23rd. Basically, it is their version of Breast Cancer awareness night. I saw that there would be a “home run derby” along with special auctions and stuff, so my dad and I decided to go!

I got out of school at 3, where my dad picked me up and we headed to Stockton! Traffic was awful. Usually, it takes us 40-50 minutes to get to Stockton. This time? 90 minutes. We got there at 4:30 for the special gate opening time of 5pm for a 7 o’clock game!

IMG_0422

Nothing much was really going on inside, as neither team had taken BP.

IMG_0423

Or outside for that matter.

IMG_0424

Seriously. The gates opened in 30 minutes and there was NOBODY there.

IMG_0427

Then, I saw this bus roll in…

IMG_0425

It headed into the player’s lot.

IMG_0428

Where I spotted hitting coach Haas Pratt rocking the Pink Night jersey.

IMG_0431

These jerseys were going to be auctioned off during a silent auction throughout the game. Every player’s, including the coaches, and other random people.

Oh, and I never actually saw anyone get out of the bus.

IMG_0432

Eventually, the gates did open at 5:05. There were 20 or so people in line at the time.

IMG_0437

Players were already taking the field, such as Seth Frankoff (My favorite Ports player) and Ryan Doolittle (the little brother of A’s relief pitcher Sean Doolittle).
IMG_0438

By the Ports dugout, Haas Pratt was spending time with his wife and newborn baby.

IMG_0440

As soon as I got inside, I started taking a lap around the stadium

Oh… one odd thing that I noticed was these trucks. I guess a pipe burst inside the stadium, and this is how they get water to water the field now…

IMG_0441

They had a hose that you can see above was connected to the truck, and snaked down onto the field.

IMG_0442

Crazy, no?

It was great to see all of the guys just relaxing in the dugout.

IMG_0443

I decided to walk around the outfield and see if I could find any balls, maybe if they took BP really early or something.

On my way, I stopped by the jersey auction table to find out more. When I got there, I saw that some lady had already bid on EVERY JERSEY. Yeah…

I walked all around the outfield fence, then I got to the LF corner and something caught my eye…

20130825-093708.jpg

Click the picture to enlarge it if you have too.

There were baseballs lying in the grass! Then, I noticed a player walking towards them… It was Seth Frankoff! He began hitting the balls back towards the dugout.

20130825-093715.jpg

I decided not to ask him for a ball, figuring they were going to be used for something else. It was still fun to see a pitcher “hitting.”

20130825-093721.jpg

Meanwhile, they were putting poles in the outfield grass…

IMG_0457

The players were helping out as well.

IMG_0461

I was a little confused at first. Then I realized that it might be the fence for the HR derby. This made me even more confused.

Then, my suspicions were confirmed. The “participants” took the field.

20130825-093831.jpg

Local celebrities… GREAT

Like I mentioned before, all of the players were incredibly relaxed.

Take Addison Russell, for example…

IMG_0480

I don’t know.

Seth was also enjoying relaxing.
IMG_0486

It was just a really loose atmosphere, which I loved!

20130825-093847.jpg

Tony Thompson was getting some good practice in juggling a few baseballs.

20130825-093840.jpg

Shortly before the derby got underway, a bunch of the players grabbed a seat in the stands.
IMG_0490

I think this picture shows how relaxed the setting was.

IMG_0499

Everyone was enjoying it and having a good time!

IMG_0504

The first few hitter were local radio DJs.

IMG_0509

Then, it was just a bunch of random people…

IMG_0512

IMG_0515

The clubhouse manager was the one pitching them…

IMG_0517

Notice how they are SOFTBALLS…

There were kids shagging the balls in the outfield.

IMG_0518

It really was a bunch of random people…

IMG_0527

The OLD radio voice of the Stockton Thunder participated.IMG_0552

Back to pictures of players relaxing? Here’s Dusty Robinson.

IMG_0542

Hitting coach Haas Pratt.
IMG_0565

Rashun Dixon just chillin on the grass.

IMG_0570

After all of the “celebrities” hit, Ports manager Webster Garrison stepped to the plate.

IMG_0574

And BOY did he put on a “show!”
IMG_0576

Of the 10 pitches he was given, 8 of them cleared the “fence.”

IMG_0577

He did hit one off the top of the *actual* wall in Left Field. Had it been a few feet higher, it would have landed in my glove on the fly.

IMG_0579

It was actually really fun to watch!
IMG_0582

I think he enjoyed himself.
IMG_0583

This was where I had been standing for it all.

20130825-093853.jpg

He did actually hit a ball over the fence, however it bounced onto the warning track and into the bullpen.

20130825-093859.jpg

While I was back there, the fireworks for the night were being set up.

20130825-093904.jpg

As the derby was winding down, I caught up with Bess and Will.

IMG_0597

Haas Pratt also got his 10 swings in the cage.

IMG_0599

He finished with 7 home runs, which was still 2nd to Webby.

IMG_0605

All of the players were just chilling and watching the “derby.”
IMG_0608

Pitching coach Jimmy Escalante also hit in the derby.

IMG_0615

Here is Dusty Robinson with a little girl on the field. Not sure who she is, but I think they must know each other pretty well.

IMG_0621

Here are the two of them, along with Seth, and I believe the daughter of the Frankoff’s host family.
IMG_0622

Addison Russell was just sitting in the seats, watching the events. Of course, nobody “dared” to sit near him.

20130825-093909.jpg

On the very last pitch, this guy pulled a ball foul.

IMG_0628

It clanked into the seats, and I scrambled over and picked it up.

IMG_0635

Since it was a softball hit by a firefighter than I was going to have to return, I wan’t going to count it.

As soon as I got the ball, somebody asked him he could throw it onto the field, so I handed the ball to him.

IMG_0637

Then, everything wrapped up and came to a close.

They took a group photo.

20130825-093916.jpg

I spent some time talking with Bess and Will, before I headed off to check out the booth that the Stockton Thunder had set up.

IMG_0643

Here it is. They had their trophy, along with Season Ticket information.

IMG_0646

Here’s a cool shot of the fence that was set up for the derby.

IMG_0649

And here is one that shows the hose coming onto the field that they used to water the field.

IMG_0658

As I was hanging out by the Ports dugout, this caught my eye.

IMG_0671

It was the handle of a broken bat. I didn’t see any way to get it, there were no players around, so I didn’t make an attempt.

Eventually, players came out onto the field to stretch.

IMG_0677

And as this was going on, there was a ZUMBA class taking place on the field…

IMG_0681

None of the players paid any attention to it.

IMG_0691

Soon, the Visalia players began tossing, so I headed down there.
IMG_0745

I thought this was a pretty funny picture…

IMG_0815

As each Ports player took the field, he would have a special handshake or routine with Splash.

IMG_0840

IMG_0841

Then, it was time for the National Anthem.

IMG_0852

Sung by this lady.
IMG_0862

There were fireworks periodically shot off.

IMG_0874

Then a lot of pink balloons were released into the sky.

IMG_0876

These logos were painted onto the field.

IMG_0884

Tanner Peters was pitching for the Ports in this game.
IMG_0895

And he struggled in the first 2 innings.

IMG_0912

Jake Lamb doubled in Gerson Montilla in the first inning.
IMG_0965

IMG_0968

Webby wasn’t too pleased…

IMG_1021

Between the 1st and 2nd innings, I went over to the silent auction table and threw down a bid for Bruce Maxwell’s jersey.
IMG_1090

In the 2nd inning, the Rawhide had 2 1-out singles before Evan Marzilli stepped to the plate.

IMG_1094

And he yanked it OUT, to make the score 4-0.

IMG_1135

After this, Tanner Peters settled down, allowing 4 hits over the next 4 innings, without allowing another run.

IMG_1145

This was my view for the game.

IMG_1155

I went out into the parking lot for 5 minutes at the beginning of the game, and spent some time behind the Ports dugout, but I really didn’t put much effort into ballhawking. I liked being able to just sit, relax, and enjoy the game.

Eddie McKiernan was the starting pitcher for Visalia in this game.IMG_1233

Once the 7th inning came to a close, I guess Splash started mocking the field umpire. I was checking the jersey table at the time, so I didn’t see this go down. Splash started mocking the umpire, then the umpire started chasing Splash.

IMG_1236

And from what I understand, proceeded to tackle splash to the ground.

IMG_1238

Trey Barham then pitched the 7th inning for Stockton, only allowing a walk.

IMG_1258

As soon as the top of the 7th ended, I headed over to the jersey table. My plan was to stand by the sheet for the player I wanted, then write my bid in with two outs.

As soon as the 2nd out was recorded in the bottom of the 7th, I grabbed a pen and got ready.

I knew I had to get a jersey that was a 44 or 46, because anything else would look gigantic on me. I saw  a few jerseys that would actually fit me that were reasonably priced at this point. Those were the Bullpen Catcher’s and Jeremy the on-field emcee’s.

As soon as Dusty Robinson hit the ball to third base, a bunch of people jumped for those two. I noticed that Will had been outbid by two people for Seth Frankoff’s jersey, so I went ahead and wrote my name down and won it!

I went over to let my dad know, and we went over to the team store to pay. I had been saving up money for a little while, so this purchase was all me. I had been given a sheet that basically said “Congratulations for winning #20 Seth Frankoff’s jersey.” We brought that to the team store and they stapled it to the reciept and a pink paper that explained in the top of the 9th, we needed to go section 117, where we would be allowed to go onto the field.

However, I had tweeted Evan Marzilli on the Rawhide, asking him for a Game-Used item of some sort.

Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 9.55.46 AM

So this meant I wouldn’t be able to go to 117 at the top of the 9th. My dad and I decided that he would go, then wait for me after the game.

Anyway, Kaleb Fleck came on to pitch the 8th for Visalia, as the Ports were loosing 4-2 at this point.

IMG_1274

For the top of the 9th, I grabbed a seat right next to the dugout, so I could go over and say hello to Evan.

As soon as the final out was recorded of Visalia’s 4-2 victory over Stockton, I walked over to the Rawhide dugout and asked Manager Bill Plummer for the lineup card. He said no, because it was a special pink one that they had to give back to the Ports. He then handed me the lineup card that they had been planing on using for the game. It just had the Visalia lineup, bench, and bullpen, nothing for the Ports. I then called out to Evan on his way in to the dugout, letting him know who I was. He walked over to the bench, picked up a pair of batting gloves, and handed them to me. I then thanked him, and headed over to the Ports dugout, where the on-field access was.

There, my dad was waiting for me with Bess and Seth Frankoff.

As soon as I got there, Seth asked me where I wanted him to sign the jersey, then after I told him where, he signed the jersey for me!
IMG_1276

Here is a picture Bess got, of him signing it for me.

Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 10.02.19 AM

Then, I got a picture with Seth and the jersey.

IMG_1278

Here is the picture Bess got of the two of us.

Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 10.02.19 AM Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 10.05.57 AM

I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I was! Seriously! My first Ports jersey was a game-worn jersey by my favorite player!

IMG_1279

Then, my dad took a picture of me with the jersey, lineup card, and batting gloves

IMG_1281

It then sunk in that I had gotten shut out. I can tell you it wasn’t a great feeling. Then, I realized how little effort I had given to ballhawk, as I had really just tried to enjoy the game.

Considering how the night ended, I’m not worried AT ALL about getting shut out. Big deal. At least I got to go to the game!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 30th Game of the Year… 11th MiLB Game of the Year
  • 0 balls at this game
  • 70 MiLB Balls in 11 MiLB Games = 6.36 Balls Per MiLB Game
  • 85 Lifetime Minor League baseballs
  • 95 Baseballs this Season
  • 138 total balls

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

One comment

  1. Pingback: 9/1/13 at John Thurman Field « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

