8/2/13 at the Oakland Coliseum

After Yoenis Cespedes won the Home Run Derby, the A’s announced that for every Friday home game for the rest of the season, the gates would be opening 2.5 hours early, rather than the 2 hours early for Saturday and Sunday, or the 1.5 hours early for Monday-Friday, so that A’s fans could see Yoenis take BP.

Well my mom and I walked to the bus stop, leaving the house around 1:40. Of course, the bus was running late, so we missed the BART train that we wanted to take, but we ended up getting to the Coliseum at 3:30, 1 hour before the gates were supposed to open. Already there were Ryan and Ralliney, then we were soon joined by Wiggi, Adam, and other people.

I was walking around the Coliseum for a bit, when I noticed the fireworks for the post-game fireworks show being set up.

20130804-131708.jpg

There were probably about 20 people in line when the gates opened at 4:25.

Since Will was not here again, I once again ran the banners to the bleachers. When I got inside, Brandon Moss was hitting.

IMG_4821

A’s BP was underway, and I was excited!

IMG_4822

As soon as my mom got in, I took off for LF, since I knew a majority of the balls hit in A’s BP would go that way. The first group also included Coco Crisp.

IMG_4877

As well as Josh Donaldson.

IMG_4879

My first ball of the day was hit by Josh, fielded by A.J. Griffin, and tossed to me.

Right after that, the pitchers began running.

IMG_4914

IMG_4918

The next group had Yoenis Cespedes, as well as Josh Reddick.

IMG_4932

Yoenis lined a ball to Dan Ortero, who then tossed it to me, for my 2nd ball on the day.

The 2nd group also had Eric Sogard in it.
IMG_4955

The 3rd group had Seth Smith included in it.

IMG_4963

I was still in Left Field at this point, because 1 ball had been hit into RF all BP, and it had been misjudged by Ryan, so I figured that I had a better shot in LF. There had been very few balls hit into the stands, so I was relying on tossups.
IMG_4987

However, Yoenis Cespedes put on quite a show, launching multiple balls into the 2nd deck.

The group of A’s relievers (Ryan Cook, Sean Doolittle, Jerry Blevins, and Jesse Chavez) spent all of BP together, none of them tossing anything up.
IMG_4992

Chris Young hit a couple balls into the LF BBQ Terrace.

IMG_4993

And Nate Frieman also put on a show.

IMG_5004

He hit a ball that landed about 20 feet to my right, but I got a late jump on it, plus there was a guy positioned perfectly to make the catch. The ball. however, tipped off his glove, landing in the row of seats behind him. I rushed over to get it, but he picked it up a second before I did.

That was pretty much it for A’s BP. As the A’s finished hitting, the Texas pitchers began throwing.

IMG_5008

Rangers BP flat out sucked. I spent all of it in LF, and over all of Texas BP, 1 ball was into the bleachers, and it was as Geovany Soto HR caught on the fly by Ryan.

I did get a toss-up from Matt Garza, but nobody else tossed anything up.

Oh well.

I headed back to RF after BP.

IMG_5011

Ralliney was wearing a jersey of A’s bullpen catcher Casey Chavez, which I thought was great.

IMG_5013

Spencer, one of the regulars in RF, was celebrating his birthday, so somebody baked green and yellow cupcakes. They were AMAZING!

IMG_5014

We were all just goofing around and having a good time.

20130804-131718.jpg

I was sitting on the end of 149, in the first row. To my right was Satoshi, with his ever-awesome hat.

IMG_5025

He also got this picture of me, wearing his A’s mask.

20130804-131737.jpg

The game got underway, and in the 2nd inning, I saw this on the scoreboard.

IMG_5027

Then I looked over to the Texas bullpen.

IMG_5029

Alrighty then.

As for the game itself, I didn’t get any pictures, but the A’s scored 2 runs in the 1st, on a Brandon Moss RBI double, then the Rangers scored 2 runs of their own in the 2nd, on a Nelson Cruz 2-Run homer.

The Rangers scored 2 runs in each the 3rd and 4th innings as well, then after an A’s run in the 4th, the Rangers were ahead 6-3.

Around the 6th or 7th inning, this guy tried starting the wave.

IMG_5146

And eventually the wave did start, much to the displeasure of everyone in Right Field, especially Daniel.

IMG_5145

In the 7th inning, I saw these people come up behind the right field fence.

IMG_5126

One of those people- Ian Sagabaen, aka Greatest Sign Maker!

IMG_5131

What was he doing down there? Well he had this sign.

IMG_5136

Between the 7th and 8th innings, they all went out onto the field.

IMG_5148

It was the 1st ever Saag’s Hall of Fame Race!

IMG_5149

Rollie (Yellow Jersey), Rickey (Green Jersey), and Eck (White Jersey) started at the LF corner, and ran around the field, past the infield, towards this setup in the RF corner.

IMG_5150

Ian had made a sign for each of the players, or runners, and he was holding the one for Rollie!

IMG_5152

It was a great time!

IMG_5153

They came down the home stretch, with Rickey in the lead.

IMG_5154

And the winner was… The GREATEST of All Time!

IMG_5155

They then exited the field.

IMG_5157

And posed for a picture behind the fence.

IMG_5166

I think everyone enjoyed it a whole lot!

IMG_5180

After the wave had finished, the score was 8-3, and it stayed that way for the rest of the game, as the A’s dropped to the Rangers, 8-3.

This was my last game in Oakland until the next home stand, as I will be coming to one of the games where Zack Hample would be in town, on August 15th!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 23rd Game this Year (17th MLB Game)
  • 3 Balls at this Game
  • 23 balls in 17 MLB games this season = 1.36 Balls Per Game
  • 70 Balls this season
  • 51 Lifetime MLB Baseballs
  • 113 Lifetime Baseballs

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: 8/30/13 at the Oakland Coliseum « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

