6/29/13 at the Oakland Coliseum

Coco Lean bobblehead day! I knew it was going to be crowded. For this reason, I chose to not put much effort into ballhawking at this game, so that I wouldn’t be disappointed if I didn’t snag a ball.

This would be a game featuring myself, my mom, and my sister, Pascale.

The game was a 1:05 start time. The gates opened at 11:05. What time did I get there? 7:45 of course! The BART Ramp gate was set to open up at 8. A few minutes after we got in that line, this was the scene behind us.

IMG_9002

You think that’s crazy? Check this out:
IMG_9003

Yeah… It was over 5 hours before game time and there were that many people in line to get into the Coliseum grounds!

Guess who was near the front of the line?

IMG_9005

That’s Ross and Wiggi!

I went over there and joined them, hoping to be able to get to the front of the line at MM.

The BART Ramp gate opened at 8:15. As soon as it opened, everyone started running towards LL and D, to the right side. Since I was near the front, I broke off towards MM. I jumped over the short fences keeping the line in place, and was first in line. All of the right field bleacher people started throwing their backpacks at me! A few people threw flags and such, but more importantly, we were first in this line.

IMG_9009

Around 8:30, Will joined in on the party.

IMG_9012

When I say party, I truly mean it. The line just kept growing.

IMG_9013

Pascale and I took off around 8:40 to take a lap around the stadium and scope out the other lines. Here is the Gate C line.

IMG_9018

As we walked past the gate, I saw something that caught my eye.

IMG_9021

It was WIDE OPEN. Yeah…

IMG_9025

I considered for a split second going inside, but decided against it for obvious reasons.

We kept walking, up towards the season ticket holder entrance, where there was already a decent line.

IMG_9031

The A’s were preparing very well. They had the line set up to snake towards the Oracle Arena.

IMG_9034

And do this…

IMG_9035

Yeah… WOW!

As we were walking towards Gate D, we took a quick peak at the player parking lot. Nothing fancy.

IMG_9039

The line at Gate D was HUGE!

IMG_9043

When I say huge, I mean HUGE! That picture does not do justice.

We ended up getting back in line around 9:15 or 9:20. Around 10:15, the bobbleheads started coming in.

IMG_9049

Here is a quick peak at the line at this time.
IMG_9052

Everyone was having a “great” time at the front of the line. It was very hot and there were a lot of us. Pascale spent some time playing with Cara Miller’s son Ian.

IMG_9054

I was clearly very excited.

IMG_9056

We were all “enjoying ourselves.”
IMG_9062

At 10:40, just 25 minutes before the gates were supposed to open, I got this picture of Will.

IMG_9061

That picture pretty much sums it all up.

This was the scene. Pure CHAOS!

IMG_9064

This was the line from MM. I was standing in the parking lot when I took this picture.

IMG_9068

The line extended INTO the parking lot.

IMG_9069

I’m  not even at the back of the line here.

IMG_9073

The sea of cars amazed me.

IMG_9075

It was nuts.

Sure enough, at 11:05, the gates opened, and I dashed inside.

Nothing was going on for the first 15 or so minutes.

Slowly, a few A’s began to stretch.

IMG_9078

They eventually started throwing, but by the time they were done, the Cardinals had all left the field. I had many many attempts for a tossup from an A’s player, but failed. I left the LF corner to head elsewhere.

IMG_9080

This all happened in a span of 25 minutes at most, so I was all but positive that I was going to be shutout.

I went over to the A’s Kids Club table with my sister, then headed back to the bleachers. At this point, I met up with Taylor Fernandez and her brother. We talked for a while, then walked around the concourse. I got back to the bleachers about 20 minutes before first pitch.

Matt Holiday, former Athletic was in the starting lineup.
IMG_9088

He was among the Cardinals players stretching along the RF line.

IMG_9096

Jarrod Parker, meanwhile, was warming up in the A’s bullpen.

IMG_9098

He was being caught by Derek Norris.

IMG_9100

As the players were finishing up warming up, IMD and ATM, the guys behind the song Bernie Lean had a short performance on the field, ending it with Bernie Lean. I videoed the performance, but now I can’t find the video. Sorry! I’ll update this entry if I do find it.

This was my view just before the national anthem.

IMG_9102

Right as the national anthem began, this began to fly over.

IMG_9108

On the bright side, it is providing arial coverage!

Again, like I mentioned, Jarrod Parker was on the mound for the green and gold.

IMG_9110

Oh, and one thing that the A’s have been doing for the past few weeks  is displaying fans’ tweets on DiamondVision. If you remember, my tweet was displayed back on Tuesday. Look what I came across this Saturday afternoon.

IMG_9116

Yay! I think I got a couple of new followers.

In the 4th inning, there was a scare on the mound.

IMG_9117

Jarrod Parker threw a 1-0 pitch to Allen Craig with 2 outs. Craig doubled on the 1-0 pitch to centerfield. However, on the pitch, Parker fell to the ground.

IMG_9118

He ended up laying on the ground for a little while, trying to stretch out. It was later determined to be a hamstring injury.

IMG_9120

He was then replaced with Jesse Chavez.

IMG_9125

At the time, it was a scoreless game.

The infielders gathered in front of 2nd base and talked with Jim Joyce while Chavez warmed up.

IMG_9128

The outfielders talked as well.

IMG_9129

I got this really cool picture of Yoenis Cespedes spitting.

IMG_9132

After a number of pitches, Jesse Chavez was ready.

IMG_9139

I then noticed that ATM and IMD were in 149.

IMG_9141

Meanwhile… Adam Wainright was dominating the A’s.

IMG_9147

Dan Ortero came in with 2 outs in the top of the 8th, when the Cardinals were ahead 7-0, with 4 of those runs being charged to Jesse Chavez, 2 of them charged to Jerry Blevins, 1 to Pat Neshek.

IMG_9156

I really like this picture of Brandon Moss. Not sure why- I just like it!

IMG_9158

Josh Reddick feeding himself sunflower seeds.

IMG_9161

Oh… and he was wearing these awesome stirrups!

IMG_9162

Nate Freiman stepped up to lead off the bottom of the 9th, with a 7-1 Cardinal lead.

IMG_9175

He grounded out, then Yoenis lined out, for the 2nd out of the inning.

IMG_9178

We were all hoping for some 2-out magic!

IMG_9179

Adam Wainwright walked Brandon Moss, then looked to finish off the CG when Adam Rosales stepped to the plate.

IMG_9187

Rosales popped out to 2nd Baseman Matt Carpenter to end the game, and that was it!

Sure the A’s lost, but it was certainly a fun day! Waiting in line, roasting in the sun, you can’t complain!

After the final out, ATM and IMD were posing for pictures with people in the concourse. Here they are with Will.

IMG_9192

This was my last game for 2 weeks, as my next game was going to be July 14th against the Red Sox.

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 18th Game this Year (13th MLB Game)
  • 0 Balls at this Game
  • 14 balls in 13 MLB games this season = 1.08 Balls Per Game
  • 42 Lifetime MLB Baseballs
  • 93 Lifetime Baseballs

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

