6/2/13 at the Oakland Coliseum

2nd game in 2 days! Let’s go!

I was thankful that I wouldn’t have to wake up early this time. Today, I woke up around 8am. Our family got out of the house by 9am and we were in Oakland by 9:30!

IMG_2577

Once we arrived, I was shocked by all of the cars. I then realized it was LITTLE LEAGUE DAY. At this point, I was almost positive I was going to get shut out, so I set my goal for the day at 1 ball. I headed up from Parking Lot B to gate MM, where I set my stuff down.

Once my dad got in line, my mom, sister, and I headed down to Gate D, so that we could buy extra tickets for upcoming games. We got tickets for Root Beer Float Day (Where I don’t plan on ballhawking), as well as extra tickets for a few games in July.

I did a lot of walking back and forth between MM and the car, as I kept forgetting various things, but around 10:30, I was in line for good!

During the half hour leading up to the time the gates opened, this very cute kid kept everyone entertained with his dancing. I posted this picture on Facebook and the next day, Will tweeted it to his mom. I then got a Tweet from her, thanking me and my dad for the picture. Go ahead and give her a follow on Twitter!
IMG_2609

10 minutes before the gates opened, this was the scene in line. It was Coco Crisp Cereal Bowl day for the first 5,000 kids 14 and under. (Yes I did end up getting one)

IMG_2643

Will and I were ready to run in! As you can see, I’m wearing the 2013 A’s Memorial Day hat, which I had picked up after the game the day before.

IMG_2647

At 11:05, we were in!
IMG_2649

IMG_2653

I actually wasn’t going to be sitting in the bleachers for this game. My high school team (Who I have mentioned before) had an amazing season come to an end, and to celebrate, one of the dads rented out the Right Field BBQ Terrace for the team!

IMG_2655

This was going to be a fun day!

I knew it would be hard to snag a ball, so I got to work early, heading over to where the White Sox were playing catch.

IMG_2660

No luck in the first 10 minutes. Promptly at 11:15, the Little League Day Parade started. The A’s have Little Leaguers parade around the warning track. In all, I would say it took 30 minutes to get everyone through.
IMG_2663

Over the course of the parade, players were not allowed to throw balls into the stands, instead giving them to the deserving kids walking around the field.

After a certain point, I just gave up and headed over to the BBQ terrace to get some food before the game started.

Eventually, the parade ended (Around 11:45) and I ran over to where the A’s were warming up.

IMG_2674

During the 10 minutes I was there, I should have gotten 1 ball. I called out to Casey Chavez, the A’s bullpen catcher, after he was done working with Grant Balfour. He went to toss the ball to me, and shortly before it hit my glove, a *Large* man in a Giants hat and jersey swatted the ball away, as it hit the ground. He then started laughing and said “You’re an A’s fan, you don’t deserve a ball!”

Yeah…

And people wonder why I hate Giants fans…

Chavez saw the whole thing unfold. He went over, picked up the ball, looked up and the man, and put the ball in the ball bag. Cool…

At this point, I decided to head back to the BBQ terrace to finish my burger and talk with some of the guys.
IMG_2684

This was pretty much the setup. There were 2 sections that had about 45 seats in them, along with 3 benches that seat about 9 people each.

IMG_2715

IMG_2724

There was also a table full of desserts, chips, and other things! I took full advantage of the unlimited burgers and hot dogs, along with the free water and soda!

I was sitting on the asile of the section closest to the foul pole. I pointed out where my family was sitting to everyone.

IMG_2725

They found us!!!
IMG_2729

Around this time, it was 12:15, and Ryan Cook was STILL signing autographs. He is a class act.

IMG_2746

Once he left, the grounds crew began to prep the field.IMG_2758

IMG_2759

This was a view from the table that had all the foods. You can see the grill and beverage stand on the right side.

IMG_2834

Now the game itself..

Jarrod Parker was pitching for the A’s.
IMG_2852

Players slowly began to take the field.
IMG_2878 IMG_2880

We were all enjoying watching the White Sox warm up.

IMG_2892

IMG_2894

We were all yelling at the White Sox players along the foul line.

IMG_2946

Chris Sale is SKINNY
IMG_2961

He has a funky delivery too!

IMG_2963

I was sitting to the left of these three guys (L-R: Logan, Zak, and Craig)

IMG_2968

Oh, and it was HOT!

IMG_2993

Oh and this car randomly drove around the warning track.

IMG_3021

Chris Sale warmed up in the bullpen.

IMG_3031

Like Pat Neshek, he is fun to take pictures of!

IMG_3039

IMG_3041

It felt weird seeing these guys from a different angle.

IMG_3105

Yoenis Cespedes was one of the last guys that was warming up on the field before the first pitch.

IMG_3131

I interacted with the RF Bleacher guys throughout the game.

There was a time where they started chanting “BAD-DERS! BAD-DERS! BAD-DERS! BAD-DERS!” I felt loved.

IMG_3156

Every Sunday, the A’s have Little Leaguers take the field for the National Anthem with the A’s.

IMG_3160

IMG_3163

It always looks cool to see the team lined up along during the National Anthem.

IMG_3168

IMG_3170 IMG_3174

IMG_3175

IMG_3181

IMG_3192

Jarrod Parker was starting today for the A’s.

IMG_3211

IMG_3212

He got a quick out in the first.
IMG_3221

But the White Sox were unable to capitalize.

IMG_3328

The A’s went 1-2-3 in their half of the first.

IMG_3396

The White Sox were unable to do anything either, as Jarrod Parker set them down in order.

IMG_3445

Josh Donaldson grounded out to start off the inning.

IMG_3458

And Nate Freiman singled.

IMG_3474

IMG_3478

But again, the A’s were unable to do anything with him, as the 2nd inning ended in a 0-0 tie.

IMG_3484

The first 2 White Sox hitters in the 3rd inning flew out to Coco Crisp.

IMG_3499

Again, the White Sox didn’t score any runs.

Derek Norris struck out in the 3rd inning.

IMG_3559

And Adam Rosales singled.

IMG_3593

But Jed Lowrie grounded out to end the inning.

IMG_3693

IMG_3702

The White Sox had a walk and double, but were not able to open the game in the 4th inning.

After Yoenis Cespedes was hit by a pitch, Josh Donaldson struck out.

IMG_3776

And Nate Freiman popped out.

IMG_3813

The game remained scoreless after 4 innings.

Everyone in the first row had their feet up on the ad right in front of us.

IMG_3888

In the 6th, Josh Donaldson was able to connect, but he flied out, however it did bring in Coco Crisp, as he tagged up to come in and score.

Jerry Blevins came on for the 7th inning, relieving Jarrod Parker after his 6 shutout innings.
IMG_4034

A lot of people stood behind the seats and talked.

IMG_4058

Afre Jerry Blevins recorded one out Bob Melvin put in Ryan Cook.

IMG_4063

Who struck out Casper Wells to end the White Sox half of the 7th inning.

IMG_4073

One of the dads, Rick Flayler, was the one who organized this entire thing for the team.

IMG_4102

We were all enjoying the game.

IMG_4112

Before the 7th inning stretch, Rick told the crowd a bit about our team.

IMG_4141

Then we all sang Take Me Out to the Ballgame!

IMG_4147

The A’s went quickly and quietly in the 7th, keeping the game at 1-0.

IMG_4224

IMG_4228

IMG_4236

Ryan Cook came out to pitch the 8th as well.

IMG_4300

And once again, Chicago was set down 1-2-3.

IMG_4344

Coco Crisp had a 1-out single in the 8th.

IMG_4381

And he preceded to score on a Jed Lowrie single, then error by the White Sox center fielder.

IMG_4399

This stretched the A’s lead to 2-0!

IMG_4417

With 1 out in the bottom of the 8th, when Coco Crisp stepped to the plate, I headed out to the RF bleachers so that I would be able to rage. I sat down in my seat on the 1st pitch of the Jed Lowrie at bat, and on the 3rd pitch,  he lined a screaming foul ball right down the line. It hit about 3 feet to where I had been sitting in the BBQ Terrace!!! WHAT. THE. HECK?????

Will, the inventor of the rage, had his usual Hulk gloves with him.

IMG_4486

Everyone was raging!!!

IMG_4500

IMG_4543

IMG_4564

This meant Grant Balfour was in!!!

IMG_4636

The White Sox had a lead off single, but Balfour settled down to retire the next 3 guys.

IMG_4710

And it was an A’s win!

My dad got a picture of the team.

IMG_4753

Everyone had a great time!IMG_4771

So that foul ball that I should have gotten if I had actually been in my seat? It ended up here:

IMG_4778

Also, prior to the game, I had noticed this ball.

IMG_4780

Look again…

IMG_4781

Yeah!

After the game, it was time for Kids Run the Bases.

IMG_4783

IMG_4785

And no, I didn’t participate…

The seagulls started to take over the Coliseum…
IMG_4787

So we left…

Thanks for reading!!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 13th Game this Year (10th MLB Game)
  • 0 Balls at this Game
  • 12 balls in 10 MLB games this season = 1.2 Ball Per Game
  • 40 Lifetime MLB Baseballs

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

2 comments

  1. Wes

    Did you ever see the California/Carolina League baseball for the all star game? If Not check out Eduardo Rodriguez’s twitter. He played in the game and took a pic. It is a pretty nice looking ball. The logo is really cool. Nice job with this post!

    Like

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

