2 Years of 7000 Coliseum Way

All-

Today is the 2-year anniversary of 7000 Coliseum Way. 731 days ago, I clicked “create blog” not really knowing what to expect. I started out writing previews and reviews of A’s games. At this time, I had no clue how to blog or really what I was going to write about.

At the time, I had been following Zack Hample’s blog, The Baseball Collector. I read of his adventures and journeys ballhawking and I knew right away I wanted to give it a shot.

On June 28th, 2011, I ballhawked for the first time, when the Florida Marlins came to town. It was a rainy day and I hadn’t even brought my glove! In the top of the 7th inning, I moved down behind the A’s dugout, where Tye Waller tossed me the infield warm up ball that the A’s had been using. That turned out to be my first of many lifetime snags.

From there, I knew what I wanted to blog about. I made a point to go to as many games as possible that year, attending 6 more over the course of 2011 season, snagging 4 more balls. After attending that last game of 2011, where I met Zack Hample, I really didn’t know what I wanted to blog about.

In the year of 2011, I had  854 views. That’s an average of 4 per day.

In 2012, I continued writing, attending A’s FanFest in January. On April 5th, I attended Opening Day in San Deigo, to see the Dodgers beat the Padres. I didn’t snag a ball that day, but a few weeks later, I snagged my first lifetime Minor League Ball at a Stockton Ports game. In late April, I went to my first A’s game of the year, snagging a new all-time high 3 balls.

I continued going to games throughout the school year. In July, I went to Municipal Stadium, home of the San Jose Giants, where I snagged 6 baseballs, the most I had ever gotten at a baseball game, Major or Minor League. About a month later, in August, right before school started back up, I snagged 6 balls at an A’s game when the Twins were in town.

At the beginning of September, I found out that my blog had made it to the top 50 MLB Fan Blogs of August. I was BEYOND ecstatic  finding out that my 868 views on the month was enough. In September, the A’s were in the heat of the pennant race. In October, they won the AL West, and I attended Game 3 of the ALDS.

My blog continued to stay in the top 50 for the remainder of the year, rounding out in the #67 for the 2012 year.

In December of 2012, I started hosting BlogTalkRadio shows. for 30 minutes every Sunday, I would talk baseball. I’m hoping to bring this back sometime this summer.

In January, I went to A’s FanFest, where I was granted a press pass, in order to participate in A’s BlogFest, where I was able to do a press-conference style interview with Bob Melvin, David Forst, and Mike Gallego.

In March, I attended the first game of the World Baseball Classic Semis in San Francisco, and even though I didn’t snag a ball, it was one of the best games I have ever attended.

I was at Opening Day in Oakland, where I made lots of new friends. A few days later, I went to Banner Island Ballpark in Stockton, where I met even more people and snagged a new high of 10 baseballs, 5 of them during BP. At the end of the month, on April 29th, I attended hands-down one of the top 3 games I have ever been to, if not the best.

It started off being a game I didn’t plan on attending. I was given free tickets at the last minute, getting to the stadium minutes before the gates opened. I snagged 3 BP balls, then during the game, the Right Field Bleachers held Josh Hamilton Appreciation Night. It was an amazing time, but turned to get better. It ended up being the longest game in Oakland History, lasting 19 inning- 6 hours and 32 minutes.

At the beginning of May, I found out that 7000 Coliseum Way was the 3rd most-read blog on MLBlogs, which completely blew my mind.

In May 2013, I went to Bacon Friday in the Right Field bleachers in Oakland. A day filled with bacon, bacon, and more bacon. The next day, I hosted BallhawkFest (entry to come this weekend), where ballhawks from up the Pacific Coast as well as a few ballhawks from other parts of the US gathered in Oakland to snag as many balls as possible. There were around 10 ballhawks there who combined to snag over 20 baseballs!

A week later, I attended a Stockton Ports game (Entry to Come), where after the game, I got a broken bat!

That now brings me to today. May 29th, 2013. It is been 2 years since I started, and I have come amazing far. I never expected to be where I am. 83 Facebook likes. Over 400 Twitter followers between my 2 accounts. Endless Memories. I look forward to continue to blog, and I hope the next 365 days can be even better than the last.

Thank You very much to all, the support means more than you can imagine.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Badders

4 comments

  1. Matt Huddleston

    I wonder how many of us started blogging because of Zack Hample? I know I did. Even though my writing isn’t ballhawk related, the idea to start one came from reading his and enjoying it so much. I enjoy reading your blog as well. I too was amazed that I kept blogging for two years–my two year anniversary was back in January–and that I continue to do so. I hope we both continue to grow as writers as we push towards a third year of blogging.

    Like

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

