Harvey Codde

Does that name ring a bell? If so, you’re probably lying.

A short while ago, I was approached by  Mr. Hahn, and he told me that he had some cool stuff related to baseball that he wanted me to see.

After school one Friday, I headed with him into the office to meet up with Ms. Getgen, our school’s secretary.

We went into her office and she pulled out this box, filled with papers.

Her father was Harvey Codde. He was a Minor League pitcher with the Brooklyn Dodgers in the 1940’s. Are there any names that you can think of that were baseball players in the Brooklyn Dodgers organization in the 1940’s? Try Pee Wee Reese. Or Jackie Robinson.

If you click on his name above, you can check out his page at Baseball Reference.

Ms. Getgen was given a box by her mother filled with papers that had to do with his baseball career. I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to look through them with her and Mr. Hahn!

This is an entry with very few words! Why? The pictures really tell the story. There are no words needed to describe this entry. Remember you can click on any picture to enlarge it and take a closer look at it!

20130421-000110.jpg

Here is the actual box itself:
20130421-000348.jpg

Here is the first thing I pulled out of the box:
20130421-000116.jpg

An envelope from the Brooklyn Dodgers, addressed to Harvey Codde!

20130421-000352.jpg

I opened it up to find these two letters inside:

20130421-000121.jpg

Here is the first one of them:

20130421-000128.jpg

That is a letter informing him that he would be playing for the Montreal Royals, receiving a salary of $200 a month!

The second:

20130421-000134.jpg

That is a letter from BRANCH RICKEY inviting him to Spring Training with the Dodgers!’

I first pulled out a few photographs out of the box.

20130421-000140.jpg

20130421-000145.jpg

A majority of the contents of the box were box scores and articles. Here is an article that details him reporting to camp.
20130421-000156.jpg

When he would pitch in a game, the box score and accompanied article were cut out of the newspaper.
20130421-000222.jpg

Clearly, he had some serious talent!

20130421-000216.jpg

The arrows direct you to where you can read about specifically him.

20130421-000234.jpg

20130421-000242.jpg

There were lots of articles written about him. When these articles appeared in the newspaper, they would cut them out and glue them onto a piece of scrapbook paper.

20130421-000247.jpg

I found this page just absolutely nuts!

20130421-000254.jpg

If you click on any of the pictures, you can enlarge them. Reading some of the names in the box scores is truly amazing.

20130421-000300.jpg

Here are a few more pages…

20130421-000306.jpg

20130421-000312.jpg

A 1944 team photo of the Montreal Royals.

20130421-000318.jpg

Lots of box scores here!

20130421-000322.jpg

He was making headlines often!
20130421-000327.jpg

20130421-000332.jpg

Here are some more pictures and stats.

20130421-000337.jpg

Here is the last page that was in the box.

20130421-000343.jpg

Here is an overview of the box and its contents.20130421-000348.jpg

Here is one last final and close look at the envelope.

20130421-000352.jpgHow cool is that?

I hope everyone enjoyed this different kind of entry! When I heard about this all, I knew I wanted write a blog entry about it!

Thanks for reading!

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

12 comments

  1. bdweingarten

    Wow. That’s amazing. Huge blast from the past. My dad used to go to the Polo Grounds as a kid, and my grandpa used to go both their and Ebbets Field before then. I wonder if he ever saw him pitch in Brooklyn. I’ve heard a lot of stories from people about how mad people were when the Giants and Dodgers moved. My grandmother went to college with Walter O’Malley’s daughter.

    To put this in perspective, somebody polled Brooklynites, asking who they hated most. O’Malley came in third only after Hitler and Stalin.

    Like

  2. Connie Codde Monaghan

    Nick, I am Mrs. Getgen’s sister, Connie. Words cannot express what a treat it was to read your blog. My dad was a very modest man who seldom spoke of his baseball days. Occasionally we would pull out the scrapbooks and articles and read them. To have you share them so others can read about him touches my heart. When he was a star pitcher at St. Joseph’s High School in Alameda, he would sometimes pitch both games of a double header. Guess it’s no wonder his arm gave out on him at such a young age. Thank you so much for this…it means the world to the Codde family.

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      Wow! I really am glad that you liked it so much! It was amazing for me to look through the pages, I love baseball history. I can only imagine if he had been able to pitch longer. Again, I’m glad you enjoyed it!
      -Nick

      Like

  3. Connie Codde Monaghan

    I might also add that my dad continued his love of baseball. He was one of the founding fathers of the Washington Manor Little League in San Leandro. He coached his three sons in Little League and even when they were out of the league continued to coach up until his death.

    Like

  4. Jerry Codde

    Nick , I really appreciate what you have to say about my Dad. He loved baseball his entire life. It was really too bad that he hurt his arm and was unable to continue playing in the minor leagues but then baseball did bring he and my mother together when he played in Newport News, Virginia. Even though he had to stop actually playing baseball because of his injury, he enjoyed coaching baseball for many years as Connie indicated above. Again, all the Codde children appreciate your interest in our father and baseball.

    Jerry Codde

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      I’m really glad that you enjoyed the entry! I’m gad that he was able to continue being around baseball, despite his injury. I’m glad to be able to post this entry for everyone to enjoy!
      -Nick

      Like

  5. Jordynne Badillo

    I’m love that you are into this stuff. This is my great grandpa. I appreciate what you had to say about him. (:

    Like

  6. Sue Getgen

    Nick, I love what you posted about my dad. As I told Mr. Hahn, I was looking at your post while in our car (of course I was the passenger!) , I got a lump in my throat. You did such a wonderful job posting the pictures and newspapers articles. I enjoyed your comments, also. My dad loved every aspect of baseball. He would’ve loved to see your blog. Keep up the good work. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share my dad’s baseball story. Mrs. Getgen

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post so much! I loved getting a chance to look at all of the pictures and articles, and was more than happy to share them with everyone that reads this blog!
      -Nick

      Like

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

