4/1/13 at the Oakland Coliseum

This was shaping up to be a VERY fun day! Everyone in my family got Opening Day tickets on Christmas, and we were sitting in the bleachers and I COULD NOT be more excited! The four of us left our house around 1:45 and got to Oakland close to 2:20.

IMG_5326

It was a beautiful day and there were LOTS of fans already there!

When we were parked, I first walked around the perimeter to see if I could find someone with information about whether or not Gate B would be open. Eventually, I found someone, and he confirmed that indeed, Gate B would be open.

I then went back to our car, grabbed my sister, and we walked around the Coliseum again, where she snapped this picture of me.

We stopped in the team store for a bit before heading back to the car. At this point, it was 2:40 and I wanted to start prepping for my BlogTalkRadio show at 3:00. Unfortunately  I decided at the last minute to do it, and due to a lack of WiFi at the Coliseum, I was unable to publicize it, but thanks to Quinn for doing so! If you didn’t listen to the show, just click here.

At 3:25, I wrapped the show up and jumped back in line, where I found bleacher friends Ross (RF Bleacher Shirt) and Ralliney (Just out of the frame on the right)!

IMG_5330

My dad then noticed this scaffolding… RANDOM!

IMG_5335

But the four of us waiting in line got a quick picture together.

IMG_5345

Then we got a quick picture of me, my dad, and my sister. AWWWWWWW!

IMG_5347

It was seriously a beautiful day for baseball.

IMG_5349

I then remembered that I needed to get a photo checked off the 2013 MyGameBalls.com Photo Scavenger Hunt list. Attempting to juggle 3 baseballs while in line waiting for the gates to open. Check!

IMG_5380

No I can’t juggle. At least I made te effort!

More and more people started gathering in line and got pictures together.

IMG_5464

Fast forward to 5 minutes before the gates open. This is the scene. It was INSANELY PACKED. Everyone was all ready to go in.

IMG_5485

Then look who showed up! It’s Benjamin Christensen! He was one of the 9 Cave Dwellers for the MLB Fan Cave last year. Go hit him up on Twitter or check out his hat of the day blog. Good stuff!

IMG_5500

But like I said, the line was PACKED

IMG_5501

And LONG

IMG_5503

When they let us in at 5:07, I was running in and slipped on a gatorade wrapper on the ground on my first step. GREAT!!!!

Then, when I was the 3rd person in at the turnstile, the person ahead of me wouldn’t take his ticket out of his ticket lanyard, so that resulted in being held up. Once I finally got past that and the giveaways, there was a line to get WRISTBANDED going into the bleachers. Wristbands suck. You have to get a wristband when entering the bleachers if they are sold out. Well I finally got in!

IMG_5533

And Derek Norris was in the cages.

IMG_5573

He wasn’t hitting anything to right field. After him, Nate Freiman was hitting in the cage.

IMG_5580

A’s BP was going nowhere fast, so I headed down to where the Mariners were playing catch. Oliver Perez was throwing…

IMG_5585

IMG_5668

… With this guy!

IMG_5615

I recognized this guy sitting near me during the game.

IMG_5700

That is Tommy Bentley, who was one of the Top 52 MLB Fan Cave Dwellers. You can follow him on Twitter here.

Towards the end of his time throwing, Perez began throwing submarine.

IMG_5707

And the Mariners began taking BP.

Kendrys Morales was hitting the ball pretty far, but he wasn’t hitting it out. Lots of balls off the wall.

IMG_5716

I decided it was best not to be in the bleachers for BP. Why?

IMG_5809

It was crowded. And there were at least a few people in every row, making moving around VERY hard. It was like that in every section of the Bleachers in LF AND RF.

It was a shame how packed the bleachers because Michael Morse was hitting BOMBS!

IMG_5814

He hit a few 2nd Deckers in Center Field. He hit A LOT of home runs into the LF Bleachers as well. Nothing to RF. But, like I said, it was way too crowded to even have a chance.

IMG_5955

You see those 3 guys? They must have thrown at least 10 balls into the bleachers if not more. Every time they threw a ball, it was a mad scrum to get it. Ridiculous.

Third Base coach Jeff Datz was throwing BP.

IMG_5961

Around 5:40, there was a batter who I couldn’t identify that hit 5 or 6 balls in a row on the ground that were all right in front of me. Bullpen catcher Jaime Navarro walked over and without me asking, seeing as that I was wearing Mariners gear, he tossed me a ball!IMG_6080

My dad wandered around for BP, taking a lot of cool photos. It honestly felt like there were easily 15,000 people in the stadium taking in BP.

IMG_5971

And for those of you that have wondered, this is what it looks like from above, looking into the Diamond Level seats in Oakland.

IMG_5991

But, like I said, he got a lot of cool photos during BP like this one:

IMG_6029

All told, BP was pretty calm. Other than Morse, there were few home runs hit. There were lot a lot of pull lefties either. Balls that were hit near me on the field were all tossed in. There was a ball that I called out for, but right before it was tossed to me, I noticed a little boy standing behind me and I moved out of the way so he could get it.

Once BP was over,I headed back to the Bleachers.

IMG_6071

Where they were setting these things. That meant one thing… FIREWORKS!!!!

IMG_6084

I then noticed this in Left Field. Hm…

IMG_6088

My dad then headed off to get some food for my sister and I.

Helpful Hint: If you are ever in need of good-tasting (However EXTREMELY overpriced food), go to the Westside Club. They have THE BEST Pizza-By-The-Slice! There is also a Sandwich bar that I mentioned in entries like this one.

The A’s started coming onto the field and I pulled out my dad’s camera when I noticed this…

IMG_6097

Do you know what is so special? For 5 points on the 2013 MyGameBalls.com Photo Scavenger Hunt list, you need a picture of… “At least three players standing in a group whose jersey numbers are visible and satisfy this mathematical formula: one player’s number equals the sum of the other players’ numbers.”

YES! 5 points checked off! 7 Points so far on the day! The I noticed this…

IMG_6098

What is so special?

For 6 points on the 2013 MyGameBalls.com Photo Scavenger Hunt list is of… “Two players standing together whose jersey numbers are visible and satisfy this mathematical formula: one player’s number equals the square root of the other player’s number.”

2+5+6 = 13 Points on the Day!

Yoenis Cespedes was also stretching on the field.

IMG_6099

So were the Mariners!

IMG_6110

“King” Felix Hernandez was pitching for the Mariners.

IMG_6114

Around 6:40, the pregame ceremonies got underway! The Bleachers were PACKED and READY TO GOOOOOOO!

IMG_6112

IMG_6148

The Mariners were introduced and stuff, then the A’s were introduced! The A’s were really focused on the fan interaction this day, so they chose 10-15 of their longest season ticket holders to greet the players on their way onto the field!

IMG_6173

Remember that photo of the tarp over the outfield wall? Well they chose two more season ticket holders to pull it off and reveal this!

IMG_6198

It was so cool to see the entire team lined up along the field!

IMG_6202

The use of Pyro was really great in the pre-game ceremonies!

IMG_6203

IMG_6210

RF Drummer, Andy, was gettting into it! (His Twitter is here)

IMG_6246

Felix finished his warm-up tosses.

IMG_6290

And the boys in Green and Gold took the field!

Josh Reddick, of course was the A’s starting pitcher.

IMG_6326

IMG_6345

THAT BEARD!!!

I really like this next picture of him. I think it just looks really cool!

IMG_6346

Coco Crisp, of course, was the A’s starting Center Fielder.

IMG_6350

And the game was UNDERWAY!!

IMG_6355

Like Game 3 of the ALDS, the starting pitcher was Brett Anderson.

IMG_6371

IMG_6374

He was pitching VERY well.

One of my favorite A’s players, Eric Sogard, was the A’s starting second baseman. If you remember, I got my picture with him at 2012 FanFest! NERD POWER!!!!

IMG_6398

John Jaso, the A’s starting catcher doubled for the A’s first hit of the game, which game with 1 out in the 4th inning.

IMG_6402

Michael Saunders was the Mariners starting right fielder. Poor guy. If you don’t know why I say that, I’ll leave it at the fact that visiting right fielders WILL get heckled in Oakland.

IMG_6426

The TV Booth was popping as always, with Ray Fosse and Glen Kuiper.

IMG_6434

Felix Hernandez was DEALING

IMG_6440

He allowed 3 hits all game. No Walks. 8 Strikeouts. Yikes…

I got this picture in the 7th inning. No real reason. Just thought it was cool.

IMG_6447

Then, in the 8th inning, guess who stopped by?

IMG_6454

It’s Oakland mayor Jean Quan! If you have heard anything about Occupy: Oakland, then I’m sure you know about her. IF not, just click her name right ^^here^^ to read about her on Wikipedia.

IMG_6458

In the bottom of the 9th, the A’s were down 2-0. But the stadium WOULD NOT stay quiet.

IMG_6470

But, with Jed Lowrie in scoring position at 2nd, Brandon Moss popped out to Michael Saunders to end the game. Awesome…

Before we left, I got this picture with my sister and my 1 ball on the day.

IMG_6478

After that picture right before we left, I spent a few minutes taling with 149 Die-Hard Omar G. He is one of the many A’s fans that has given me ENDLESS suport with my blog, so as a small thank you- can you all go follow follow him on Twitter HERE. Everyone go follow him. NOW.

He has two AWESOME sons, nicknamed Super J and the Champ. I HAD TO get a picture with the two of them! I posed with them and the foam Josh Reddick Wrestling Belt that my sister purchased before the gates opened.

IMG_6482

Seriously. Those kids are REALLY awesome!

The lights then started to turn off, so we all slowly filed out. Even though the A’s lost, it was a good day!

Once we got outside, I remembered that I need this picture…

IMG_6484

Why?  “BONUS 1: You with a stadium name sign in the background with you holding a baseball snagged that day at that stadium (1 point per stadium for a max of 30 points)” on the MGB Photo Scavenger Hunt list. 14 Points in the scavenger hunt on the day! That and the photo of me on Intentional Talk from this game, the next morning, this is what I saw at the scavenger hunt page:

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 1.05.54 AM

Awesome!

Well that’s about all I have from this game. My next game was April 3rd, so I should have that post up tomorrow or the day after that, then a few after my post about the April 3rd game, I should have up and entry about the game I’m going to today (April 5th) at Banner Island Ballpark!

Thanks for reading!

BALLHAWKING STATS:

  • 2nd Game of the Year
  • 1 Ball at this Game
  • 1 Ball in 2 Games this season = 0.5 Balls Per Game
  • 29 Lifetime MLB Baseballs
  • 44 total balls

300x50_mlblogs_top100 Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

15 comments

  1. Brendan

    Good article. I completely forgot about the scavenger hunt on OD. I hope I’ll be at a less crowded games where I didn’t feel rushed to get to the gates.

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      Thanks! The Photo Scavenger hunt was a lot of fun last year, and Todd Cook and his sons have won every year, so I’m hoping to change that this year! If you want a game with less people/less rush at the gates, make sure there is no giveaway, the opponent is not a very good team, or a team people will want to see play, and make sure it is a night game with BP. Makes everything much easier!

      Like

  2. Kevin Angle

    Sounds like you had a great day. I’m headed to the Cubs home opener tomorrow. I tested the Texas rangers fanpack and donated 15 dollars and received less then you did for 5 lol got a wristband, pocket sched and a small picture oh well.

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      KEVIN-
      I bet the Cubs home opener is going to be a lot of fun! With the Rangers Fan Pack… Really? That’s weird! I had been considering donating more to see what would happen, but clearly they don’t care how much you donate… That’s tough luck.

      Like

    • Nick Badders

      WES-
      Thank You! I won’t be able to make it to the Cal League All Star game, as I’ll be out of town, however I hope they’ll be using the balls in BP, so I can snag one of the commemorative balls!

      Like

  3. Paul K

    I love all the pictures, Nick! I felt like I was there because of all of them 😉
    Sounds like a lot of fun! I’ll have to try to make it out to Oakland in the next few years.
    I’m planning 1 big baseball trip for ME to go on. I’m want to visit either 1 east or 1 west coast ballpark in the next 2-3 years. I figure that a little budgeting now will go a long ways!
    -Paul K
    http://apieceofthegame.mlblogs.com

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      PAUL-
      Thanks, I’m glad! It’s always my goal to make my readers feel like they are at the game with me in the entries! Definitely make a point to come out to Oakland soon! It’s going to be cheaper to go to the West Coast! Trust me! 😉
      -Nick

      Like

  4. Pingback: 2013 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

