3/9/13 at the Stockton Arena

More hockey!!!

I want to apologize, as this is much shorter entry than usual.

This time, the tickets were free! My old middle school science teacher is a huge hockey fan and when she found out that I loved hockey, she offered to give me her tickets to a gave she would be out of town for. Thanks Mrs. Smith!

My dad and I left town around 5:15 and got to the Stockton Arena around 6pm, half an hour before the doors opened for reusable water bottle night!

We immediately went to get in line, and the half hour flew by!

Shortly before the doors opened, this was the scene in front of us:IMG_1744

And behind us:IMG_1745

And I was just chillin’ ready to get inside!IMG_1746

When we got in to the Area and received our water bottles, I headed over to the team store to look around for a little bit.

Inside, they had $5 bobbleheads, but believe it or not, I decided against it, as I am saving money for minor league games this season.

My dad and I then took walk around the concourse where I noticed this table set up.IMG_1751

This was the view of the ice from where we were standing.IMG_1752

After walking around for 10-15 minutes, we headed down to get some food.
IMG_1754

We took that food down to our seats, were the Thunder and Wranglers had just taken the ice to warm up. IMG_1759

My dad got some really good shots of their goalie warmin up!IMG_1763IMG_1774IMG_1775

This one is probably my favorite!IMG_1784

The warmed up for 15 minutes or so.IMG_1805IMG_1818

Before the ice was cleared and the rink was prepared for the game.

In the first 5 minutes, the Wranglers took a 1-0 lead.

My dad did get some really good pictures during the first period

IMG_1831IMG_1858IMG_1866IMG_1901

In that first period, a fight broke out between two players.

IMG_1974IMG_1981

VERY entertaining.

I honestly am having a hard time remembering a lot of the action from the game, but like I said, my dad got some AMAZING photos.

IMG_2005

IMG_2031

IMG_2063

IMG_2069

IMG_2070

In the first few minutes of the second period, the Thunder countered back, tying the score at 1-1!

IMG_2092

IMG_2100

IMG_2106

IMG_2113

IMG_2117

In the first minutes of the third period, the Thunder added on a second goal, making the score 3-2.

IMG_2144

IMG_2154

In the last minutes the Thunder were still down 3-2. The action was down at the Las Vegas goal for the last bit of action and the Thunder came very close several times, but unfortunately were unable to come back. Once the game ended, I looked for a way to get a puck, but had no luck whatsoever, so I walked around looking for leftover souvenirs.IMG_2188

And right away, I found two boxes with giveaway water bottles inside!IMG_2190

After 5 minutes more of looking, I decided to call it good enough and my dad got a picture of me in front of the rink before we headed home.IMG_2201

It was certainly a great game, and again, I have to thank my dad for once again taking me and Mrs. Smith for giving me such great tickets!

Again, I apologize for the short entry. Since I didn’t wander around before or have any super exciting stories, the entry was unfortunately much shorter.

However… Tonight (March 17th) I will be going to Game 1 of the Semifinals for the WORLD BASEBALL CLASSIC in San Francisco between Japan and Puerto Rico! 

Expect a LONG entry, LOTS of pictures, and a vlog from the game as well!

Thanks for reading!

300x50_mlblogs_top100

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: 2013 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

