2/16/13 at the Stockton Arena

Sorry this post is up late guys!

It’s time for more hockey!

If you remember, a couple of months ago, I went to my first ever Stockton Thunder game.

This game was between the Stockton Thunder, the ECHL affiliate of the Edmonton Oilers and the San Francisco Bulls, the ECHL affilaiate of my San Jose Sharks!thunder_bulls

Last year, the Thunder were an affiliate of the Sharks, but I guess this year, it’s the Bulls!

Of course, I’m a Sharks fan, but for me, the Stockton Thunder are my favorite Minor League hockey team!

Are you ready for an exciting story about tickets?

*Due to the President’s Day Holiday, I had a 4-day-Weekend*

Do you remember my uncle? I went to this A’s game with him.

Well his birthday was this past Wednesday, and as a present, I thought it would be cool to take him to a hockey game, since I know he is a big sports guy.

Given the fact that he is in a wheelchair and visually disabled, my dad and I attempted to order a wheelchair accessible seat with 2 companion seats from the Thunder website.

Before that, however, we called the Thunder, who connected us to Ticketmaster.
We tried to go through the automated machine to get tickets and after that din’t work, we were on hold for 10 or so minutes before we actually got to talk to a real person, who was unable to help us.

At this point my dad submitted the request for for the 3 seats online. He then soon got an email back saying that they had 2 open where we requested, but they had to have a 3rd seat in the back of the section.

Yeah… Awesome…

At this point, my dad called the ticket office, where he was helped by a ticket person.

He got off the phone and told me he had gotten seats 8,9, and 10… ON THE GLASS?

How awesome is that???

Up until the game started, I made a point to often pull out my phone and make quick video updates. I put them all together to make this video…

So my *Awesome* dad and I left the house around 4:00 PM to pick up my uncle and head out to Stockton for the 7:30 game.

We quickly stopped for gas, picked up my uncle, and we were on our way to Stockton!

Right next door to the Stockton Arena is Banner Island Ballpark, home of the Stockton Ports!
20130309-105537.jpg

After the 45-minute car ride, we pulled into the parking lot across the street from the arena, and after seeing only 20 or so people in line, we decided to walk around the area a little bit.
IMG_1398IMG_1399

We walked past this table set up for Military Appreciation nightIMG_1403

This is where we were at this point
IMG_1404

I got a few good pictures of the ArenaIMG_1406IMG_1415

My dad and uncle headed closer to the water, but I immediately headed over to Banner Island Ballpark, home of the Stockton Ports, where I was able to get this photo IMG_1421

I then took a picture at a different angle to capture the amazing sunset
IMG_1422

I had to get a picture of myself as well!
IMG_1426

This was the scene behind the stadiumIMG_1416

Yeah. And I wonder how whenever I go there, I don’t get 20 balls every game!

I then went over to meet them at the far side of the marina, where we started to walk back towards Banner Island Ballpark, as my uncle wanted to go check it out.IMG_1434

On our way over, we found this cool thing.
IMG_1432

Then from the same area, I was able to get a few more pictures of the sunset over the marina
IMG_1438IMG_1447

From here, we decided to head back and get in lineIMG_1436

We got in line at about 6:00, so we still had a half-hour until the doors opened
IMG_1452

So my dad went to go pick up our tickets!
IMG_1454

This is the ticket office areaIMG_1465

The line was quickly getting *very* longIMG_1461

Soon enough, it was 6:30, and we headed inside, where we were handed these snazzy Thunder hats

We walked into the entrance that said floor access only, where we found our seats! As soon as we walked in, I took a picture of the curtains we had walked through
IMG_1467

The view from our seats
IMG_1469

If you can come up with ANY view that is better than that, let me know!
20130309-105507.jpg

I decided that I wanted to walk around and check out the full concourse, so I headed up these stairsIMG_1472IMG_1473

And I walked along the upper concourse areaIMG_1474IMG_1476IMG_1477IMG_1478

I soon found myself in what seemed to be a larger concourse area
IMG_1480

This was how I got thereIMG_1483

You know how baseball stadiums have speed pitch? Well at the Stockton Arena, they have a similar thing, but you hit a puck into holes in a screen and it records your speed!
IMG_1484

This was my view of the ice!
IMG_1481IMG_1487

I quickly found my dad and uncleIMG_1485

They had these booths set up along the concourse areaIMG_1486IMG_1488

I decided it was time to head back down to the lower concourseIMG_1492

Here it is!IMG_1493

Their team store is called the “Fan Attic”
IMG_1494

I kept going along the concourseIMG_1496IMG_1499

To find this guyIMG_1497

From here, I headed back to my seat, where I found the Bulls and Thunder were warming upIMG_1521IMG_1529IMG_1546

Soon enough, the players cleared the ice, with no pucks tossed into the crowd
IMG_1564

In the first period, the Thunder scored two goals within the span of a minute, just 6 minutes into the game, ending the first period with the Thunder ahead 2-0! IMG_1628IMG_1648

Other than that, the first period was quiet.
IMG_1602

IMG_1604

IMG_1611

The first intermission started off with a 10-minute tribute to the fallen soldiers from the Stockton area. Great video.

In the second period, just a minute in, the Thunder scored their 3rd goal of the night, followed by a fourth goal less than two minutes later! IMG_1620

In the second intermission, they held the Chuck a Puck, where you can buy foam pucks and throw them onto the ice. If you land it in a certain spot, you have the chance to win a prize! I bought two and both of them were really close to landing on the mat!

IMG_1660

After that, I went up and met a reader, named Austin! I didn’t get the chance to get a picture with him (Stupid Me, Right?), but I did talk to him for a solid 10-15 minutes! He is a Giants fan that is slightly younger than me and ballhawks mostly in Stockton at Banner Island Ballpark, but he often goes to MLB stadiums as well!

The third period was VERY exciting!

IMG_1671IMG_1676

This is why…
20130309-105526.jpg

20130309-105609.jpg

20130309-105619.jpg

20130309-105619.jpg

Yep. Halfway through the period, after a hard hit, both teams broke out into a huge fight, which sent 8 guys to the locker room.
20130309-105629.jpg

As for the rest of the game…

IMG_1718

Neither team scored, giving Thunder goalie Oliver Roy his 5th ECHL shutout, with the final score being 4-0.

After the game, due to numerous requests on Twitter, I decided to go behind the penalty box to try and score a puck!20130309-105518.jpg

I was unsuccessful, but came close several times!

IMG_1721

From there, the three of us headed home.

I had an absolute blast!

Again, I apologize for taking so long to get this entry out but TONIGHT (3/9/13) I will be going back to the Stockton Arena for yet ANOTHER game! I seriously CANNOT wait for the baseball season to start!

300x50_mlblogs_top100 Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: 8/11/13 at Banner Island Ballpark « 7000 Coliseum Way
  2. joeweb10

    Love these hockey entries. I’ve read all three like 9 times! Gonna go to more Thunder games this year?

    Joe
    Farminbravesstyle.mlblogs.com

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2013 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

