September Latest Leaders, the Postseason, and Tarps…

First of all, I would like to start off by thanking everyone! I was checking the Latest Leaders for September, I jumped ELEVEN spots. If you remember, In August, I was ranked 42nd. This month, I was ranked 31st! It is amazing to me how much of a following my blog has grown in the past 3 months! I get home from school and have an email that leads me to this… #31!

20121005-201614.jpg
It’s crazy, thank you again to everyone who supports me in this all.

Now, how bout them A’S?

The A’s won on Wednesday to sweep the Rangers and win the Division! No, I was not there, I wish I had been, though! Down 5-1, and they come back to win 12-5? That’s pretty awesome! The A’s are you 2012 AL West Champions!

Honestly, how crazy is it? I never expected it! The playoffs will be AWESOME.

And, YES, I will be at a playoff game. Right now, I have tickets for Division series game 3 in Oakland, on Tuesday. I will be going with my mom, and meeting up with fellow ballhawks Wayne Peck, and Spencer Sanborn. Wayne has TWO MLBlogs himself, and you can go check them out here and here or check him out on Twitter here.

You may remember Spencer from this game. He, too has a Twitter account, and you can follow him here.

Regarding the postseason, MLB will be bringing back postseason commemorative balls, that will look like this

Silver stamping. Postseason logo. Pretty cool!

I got this information from the website Big League Baseballs, you can find the article here and give them a follow on Twitter here. Their site basically talks about Major League baseballs. One of my favorite websites hands down.

The last thing I want to talk about are the tarps…

If you have ever seen the Coliseum during a baseball game in the past 6 years, you know about those tarps covering most of the 3rd deck seats.

The A’s have already sold out the first 2 possible home divisions series games. Yet, Lew Wolff refuses to take down the tarps and sell more tickets, making more money.

Crazy, ins’t it? The covered seats take up %37 of the Coliseum’s 56,000 seating capacity. People are being told not to come to the box office because they are sold out!

A smaller crowd, A’s managers said, would create a closer, more intimate environment. Here is their reasoning: “The fan experience is better without spreading fans out over more seats. The energy in the park and the fan experience over the last week (when the seats were tarped) was incredible.”

WHAT?? More intimate? That is the last thing you want for the playoffs!

What they A’s need to do is open up a section on each side of the view level, and sell those tickets. Then, when they sell out, open up the next two, so on, and so forth. That way, it can still sell out, but they an adjust the number.

Let me know what you guys think. I know what I think is best, and I want to hear from all of you readers.

20121005-202153.jpg

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: 2012 ALDS – Game 3 « 7000 Coliseum Way
  2. Pingback: MLBLogs October and November Latest Leaders « 7000 Coliseum Way
  3. Pingback: 2012 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

