How was Josh Reddick not an All-Star?

I’m back! I had a great time at camp, and I think that if I had to pick my favorite thing, it would be that they would read the baseball scores every morning! Pretty awesome! The A’s lost on Saturday, the day I left and they won Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday. I got back on Saturday. For every full day I spent at camp, the A’s won. Other than no baseball games, what would this mean if I worked on staff there next summer?

While I was gone, the A’s had 2 walk-off hits, They outscored their opponents 21-14 and evened out their record to be at an even .500.

I’m glad to be back, and just in time for the All-Star celebration. I was more than surprised to find that Ryan Cook was the A’s only all-star. I mean, Josh Reddick had an insane 1st half! He had 20 home runs with 43 RBIs! And I was not the only one surprised by this. Not only was he ticked, but so were Ryan Cook and the rest of the Athletics organization. I, personally thought Reddick deserved to go more than Cook, but Cook still deserved to go as well.

Lets start off with the home run derby. I have to say, at the beginning, my pick to win was Jose Bautista, but I wanted Andrew McCutchen to win. He was the one guy who everyone didn’t expect to win. Of course he had only one home run, but he is still my favorite Pirates player.

I wasn’t surprised by the Royals fans booing Robinson Cano for not putting Billy Butler on the team, and of course Cano didn’t hit any home runs, but I would like to point out that he was the only AL player not to make it to the 2nd round. One guy that some of you might know, the guy known as Ballhawk Shawn, was lucky enough to snag a Prince Fielder home run in the 2nd round of the derby. It was Prince’s 8th home run of the night, and he eventually won the whole thing. My pick to click in Jose Bautista finished 2nd in the derby, just a few home runs shy of Prince.

Now onto the All-Star Game. Every minute up to the introductions, I was honestly hoping that someone had been injured on the AL squad and Reddick had been chosen to replace him. That, unfortunately was not the case. As mean as this may seem, I really, really wanted to see him play in the All Star game. Its not that I wanted someone to get seriously hurt, I am very disappointed that Reddick was most selected. After a performance from Phillip Phillips, it was time for the introductions. It was great to see Bob Melvin and Cook representing the A’s, as much as I would liked to have more people there in the Green and Gold. The first inning for me, was very frustrating to say the least. 5 runs off of Justin Verlander… crazy!

Not to mention, Pablo Sandoval had a 3-run triple, Matt Cain started and pitched the first two innings, and Melky Cabrera went 2-2 with a 2-run home run to take home MVP honors. Great. More crap from my friends that are Giants fans.

It was great to see Ryan Cook come in in the 7th inning, and see the NL go 1-2-3, including David Wright and Bryce Harper and his gold shoes. The AL did loose for the 3rd time in a row, this time 8-0.

I would like to point out here, that Ron Washington lost to the Giants in the World Series. He just lost to the Giants in the All-Star game.

One final thing that I would like to say is that I expect Kurt Suzuki to be traded this month. Derek Norris has taken his job. I don’t care what anyone else says. Suzuki is having a season to forget and is slowly turning into Jason Kendall. Ugh. I will miss Zuk, but I am looking forward to having a big bat like Derek’s in the A’s lineup.

Now I really can’t wait for baseball to start back up again tomorrow. I need it. Now if you follow me on Twitter, or have liked this blog, then you know that I have a lot of possibilities regarding baseball games in the future. I hope to go to a game this weekend, and maintain a pace of 1 or more games per week, parent permitting. I will do my best to be at myGameballs.com BallhallkFest 2012 West Coast.

Other than that, I have no real commitments. I wish I did. Trust me.

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. You can also LIKE his blog on Facebook or follow him @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay on Instagram. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

5 comments

  1. Quinn

    I really like Josh Reddick. He is a great player and should have made it to the All Satr Game, but he unfortunately didn’t make it. Wasnt there a possibility of you going to the All Star Game this year but you didn’t. I think I read a comment on Zack Hamples blog that you said you might be going, but I wasn’t sure.
    -Quinn

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      QUINN- Josh Reddick is a great guy and was one of the biggest snubs this year in the all-star game. And yes, I had plans to go to the Derby and game, but my dad’s wok schedule got crazy insane busy beyond belief, and I was unable to attend. It would have been a family reunion kind of thing on my dad’s side of the family and a late 80th birthday present for my grandpa, but unfortunately none of us were able to make it in the end. Like Ballhawks Shawn told me: “If there is a silver lining to this, it’s that there is an all-star game every year.”

      Like

  2. connor

    Yeah go Giants! And I don’t think the A’s will trade Kurt Suzuki; even if he’s not producing on the field, from what I can tell by the few A’s games I do attend, Suzuki seems to be a real fan-favourite so he’s still worth a lot to the A’s. Just my thoughts…And I’ll be in the bleachers at the Giants game tomorrow!

    Like

    • Nick Badders

      CONNOR- Kurt is a fan favorite on Oakland, and even though he is been decent defensively, Oakland needs offense, and I think that if we put Norris behind the backstop every day, and trade Zuk for a prospect or someone that has some power, then the A’s will contend. Suzuki is turning into Jason Kendall, who was a fan favorite too, but since his offensive production has been horrible, we have to trade him. We don’t have another option.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 2012 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

