4/22/12 at the Oakland Coliseum

Ok… I have no clue what its name is. MLB.com says The Coliseum, the A’s are contractly obligated to call it the O.co Coliseum on broadcasts and real A’s fans call it the Oakland Coliseum. Unless it officially changes, I will be calling it the Oakland Coliseum.

So today was a special day. Not only was today Earth Day, but it was also Little League Day. My school district was also doing a fundraiser where you would buy tickets through the schools and money goes back to support the athletic programs in the district. Its a great cause.

So everyone in the district sits together and my seat was section 126, row 35, seat 2. I was planning  on getting tickets for other games. I will get to that later.

We left Livermore at about 9:45 and arrived at the Coliseum around 10:15. We got out and went to the Box Office to buy tickets for May 11th against the Tigers, June 20th against the Dodgers, August 5th against the Blue Jays, and September 2nd against the Red Sox. After that, we went to the Livermore tailgate and I got a little food and played catch with my sister then headed into the Coliseum around 11:10.

I headed over to the Indians bullpen because Ubaldo Jimenez and soe other pitchers were playing catch. I asked Ubaldo for a ball and he said when he as done, he would. Then, the Little League parade started and the players were told not to throw balls into the crowd. So much for that ball.

After that, I walked around the stadium for a half hour or so looking for loose balls. I then headed over to the seat, which I purchased a ticket for right before the game. It was in section 127 (between the bullpen and tarp), first row aisle seat.

After this, my dad and I walked up to the bleachers to get a picture. We got a picture of me from the seat that wer calculated to be the farthest from home plate. The Plaza Reserved seats are actually farther, but you can’t access them from the other seats at the Coliseum.

The parade ended around 12:30 and Tyson Ross started to warm up, when he finished, he tossed me the ball!

Shorty after this, the A’s took the field and Braden Sweeney, who I have known for a long time, and is a Junior at Granada High School in Livermore sung the national anthem. He did a FANTASTIC JOB!

Tyson Ross pitched a great game for the A’s, as he got the win

On his birthday!

And for the record, it was INCREDIBLE to see Yoenis Cespedes play in person.

The game was pretty calm for the most part. In the bottom of the 2nd, a foul ball was hit toward the bullpen and the ball boy scooped it up and gave it to the lady behind me. Then, in the bottom of the 4th, Kurt Suzuki came up and hit a the ball off the tarp and it rolled right to me.

I leaned over the railing and grabbed it! My first ever game ball and foul ball, as well as #2 on the day! Here I am right after I caught the ball

After that, the game was very calm. No more foul balls came very near me, but somebody a few rows in front of my parents caught a ball. My parents and sister were sitting with other people from Livermore a section behind me and to my right.

Throughout the game, Jordan Norberto was throwing Starbursts and bubble gum into the crowd. He also gave the lady who got the foul ball a pack of sunflower seeds. He is a great guy.

As for the rest off the game, I didn’t focus on balls, so that some little kids could get them.

After the game, I asked Rick Rodríguez, who signed my ticket before the game for a ball. He obliged and gave me ball #3 on the day.

I headed outside and got a picture with my snags outside the Coliseum. It was a very good day!

BALLHAWKING STATS:
• 3 balls in 2 Major League games this season = 1.5 ball per game.
• 4 ball in 3 baseball games this season = 1.33 balls per game.
• 1 Lifetime Game Ball
• 1 Lifetime Foul Ball
• 3 balls at this game
• 8 Lifetime Major League baseballs
• 9 Lifetime baseballs

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Best Pictures of 2012- FanFest, April, and May « 7000 Coliseum Way
  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

