2012 Baseball Season

Ok… so I have started to plan out my 2012 baseball schedule and this is what I have at this point.


I am really looking forward to this event, here is what it says at the A’s website:

Date: Sunday, January 29
Time: 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Location: Oracle Arena next to the Coliseum
A’s FanFest features:
-Free autographs
-Free question-and-answer sessions
-Free photos with the four World Series Trophies
-Free clubhouse tours
-Memorabilia sale to benefit the A’s Community Fund
-Free parking

-Current Players, Coaches, and Former Players Expected to Attend:
-Brandon Allen
-Brett Anderson
-Daric Barton
-Jerry Blevins
-Vida Blue
-Dallas Braden
-Adrian Cardenas
-Chris Carter
-Coco Crisp
-Chili Davis
-Joey Devine
-Mike Gallego
-Chip Hale
-Scott Hatteberg
-David Justice
-Brandon McCarthy
-Bob Melvin
-Tom Milone
-Jermaine Mitchell
-Jarrod Parker
-Brad Peacock
-Cliff Pennington
-Anthony Recker
-Josh Reddick
-Rick Rodriguez
-Adam Rosales
-Tyson Ross
-Joe Rudi
-Scott Sizemore
-Seth Smith
-Eric Sogard
-Kurt Suzuki
-Michael Taylor
-Gene Tenace
-Neil Wagner
-Tye Waller
-Jemile Weeks
-Curt Young

Additional players to be announced and added. Appearances are subject to change.

Oh. Yes. This is looking like it is going to be pretty awesome. I will be tweeting live from the event, so follow @7000ColiseumWay or @nickbatters. I will try to tweet from both as much as possible. As you do that, if you have a Facebook, go ahead and LIKE us. All the likes and follows are much appreciated, it proves to my parents that this isnt a complete waste of time and it builds by self esteem up a lot.

And I just found out, but if you go here, there is a map, which will help a lot.

Single-Game Tickets go on sale at 9am and yes, I will be standing in line @ 9am ready to buy some tickets.

Here is how I plan to have the day go, pending my parents’ approval.

I want to leave our house for the Coliseum sometime between 7 and 8 am to get in line for tickets. Once we get there, I plan on us immediately getting in line at the Coliseum Box Office for Tickets. We will probably have to wait in line for a while, but we will be buying tickets to at least one game (I’ll get to that in a sec). Once we have purchased our tickets, we will get in line for FanFest at Oracle Area. Once we enter the Area at 10am, I am going to figure out how things work and try to get as many player autographs and pictures as possible. I also would love to be able to get some family and/or personal photos with the 4 World Series trophies at some point. There are also going to be clubhouse tours that I am looking forward to. I am probably most looking forward to getting to meet all the players we received in trades and free-agent signings this offseason. This looks like it’s going to be some fun.


Now… when it comes to tickets…
Two words… Oh. Boy.

I have had a big conversation with my family about tickets and we have argued a lot. So at this moment, as I am typing this, this is what we have planned…


Sunday, June 24th, 1:05 vs SF Giants
This is one of the only reasons we are showing up early for tickets. My mom really wants to go to a Giants game at the Coliseum, and even though its not ideal in the sense of ballhawking, it still would be lots of fun to go to this game. Given that we are showing up early and the small amount of A’s season ticket holders, I am counting on getting really good seats if we show up early enough.
The reason I want to sit here, If you go to the link is because there is nothing in front of the railing, potentially giving me room to lean over and scoop up a foul ball. Note that the bullpen is to the left, good place for toss ups. In my ideal world, we would get aisle seats in the first row next to the bullpen, on the left side of the section. I am keeping my fingers crossed! It would also be cool to sit anywhere near either dugout, preferably the A’s or next to the umpire tunnel on the 1B side, but either works. Now because the A’s are playing the Giants, tickets are extra, so seats around the dugout are $55. For those of you who don’t go to A’s games, those are the 3rd most expensive seats at the Coliseum. My parents are used to cheap tickets at the Coliseum, so $55 seems like a fortune to them. I’ll be working on that. It also doesn’t help that I am trying to get them to buy me a MacBook for my b-day (April 17th) so I have some work to do.
And for this game, I want to sit in section 127…
Please click here to see the panoramic view of section 127


Wednesday, June 20th, 7:05 vs LA Dodgers
Yeah. I know, I went backwards in time. Wait, you didn’t know I am a magical warlock that can bend time? Whoops, I guess I forgot to mention that…
Anyways, this day happens to be a BART $2 Wednesday. If you don’t know, tickets in the Plaza Reserved and Plaza Outfield for every Wednesday home game are $2. Yesh. But it is also MUG Root Beer Float Day (Sponsored by PEPSI) and this is a fun event every year that the A’s have. They are also playing the Dodgers, and if you remember, I went to a game in July, so I would love to see them play in Oakland too. And I might invite my friend Ryan to this game. He was the one that invited me to the Dodgers game, and I also went ot this game with him.

Now… at this point, it looks like we are only going to buy tickets to those 2 games on Sunday. As you would guess, I would love more, but im not going to complain, because i am very fortunate to even get tickets to one game or to go to FanFest at all.

My family has also committed to going to another game that we can’t buy tickets for on Sunday…


Sunday, April 22th, 1:05 vs Cleveland Indians
For this game, my entire school district is having a fundraiser and we will all get discount tickets, have a tailgate, sit together, and get a special T-Shirt… its also Little League Day, so that to.

I think that’s about it, believe it or not. Remember to follow this blog, follow me on Twitter, Facebook, or comment in the comment section below…

Nick Badders is a unofficial reporter for MLB.com. He writes the blog, 7000 Coliseum Way, and you can follow him on Twitter @nickbatters or his blog @7000ColiseumWay. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

One comment

  1. Pingback: 2012 in Review « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

