7/16/11 at O.Co Coliseum

First, I have to thank my family:

Let me just say, they are awesome! Being willing to be at the Coliseum for 2 games of Green Collar Baseball, plus the extra time, they really rock!

Double-dip at the Coliseum? Heck yeah! Saturday’s doubleheader was awesome! 2 games, one ticket, 35 minutes in between games.

My entire family went to this game, all four of us. We left our house around 11ish and were at the Coliseum at about 11:40. We got inside and went straight to our seats. and I don’t mean to brag, but they were pretty awesome.

Now that wall that you might be able to see on the left side is the wall that I kept leaning over to try to get balls. I love that wall. My seat was just barey out of the view from that shot. And we were in perfect ball snagging territory. I mean awesome! The bullpen was down and to our left and the outfield was was to our right. Jered Weaver was pitching for the Angels in the first game and was warming up with Jeff Mathis an hour or so before the game.

Now the reason I bother to show that picture is because when he was done warming up with Weaver, he tossed the ball to me. I was decked out in my A’s stuff, my gold jersey, stars and stripes hat, and green and gold bead necklaces. There were plently of other fans, most of them in Angels gear, but because I was the only youngster(ish) I got the ball. 1 down, a lot more to go (I hope)

What really pissed me off was that nobody was warming up on the field and it was 40 minutes before the game time.


Do you see anyone in that picture? No. I mean, it is a doubleheader and all, and a day game after a night game, so I can’t expect batting practice, but still, player at least might want top get ready or something like that.

Which brings me to my next topic. I went to get a hot dog and a $7 soda and when I came back, there was a ball sitting right about here:

And yeah, that is the picture before with a self-drawn red circle done in Photoshop. And yes, I don’t draw very well on the computer. But that is just about where the ball was sitting. 15 minutes before the game started some ball boy noticed it, ran to go get it and put in in my glove. I guess he can’t throw or something like that.

Once the game started, everything was pretty boring, I mean, If the right fielder got a thrid out ball, bam flip to me. A foul ball down the right field line, bam, me. Foul ball pulled by a lefty, bam I catch it. But no, the foul ball gods didn’t like me very much today.

There was one really exciting thing that happened for the A’s. For those of you that don’t know, Hedeki Matsui has 499 Home Runs combined between Japan and MLB. In the bottom of the 8th inning, with 1 out, Hedeki Matsui hit a line drive that looked like it was going to clear the wall and yellow line, and Bob Melvin thought it had.

But apparently it had hit just below the yellow line, and had instead hit off the out-of-town scoreboard. That left Hedeki Matsui standing on second base.

An then a pinch runner (Ryan Sweeny) was put in to run for Matsui. After that, the game was pretty boring, msotly cause the A’s lost. Then I had 35 minutes before the second game started. I decided to go to other side of stadium to get some ice cream, but I guess everybody else wanted to get out of their seats. It took us 30 minutes to walk from our seats to the other side of the coliseum, and we never got any food. Of course, Rich Harden decided for the A’s to change from the home white jersey to the Green alternates. Ervin Santana and the Angels changed to the Alternete red tops.

Coco Crsip (CF) and David DeJesus (RF) play catch during the top of every inning and instead of throwing it to a fan, Coco throws it to the bullpen. I know that may seem a little selfish, but still…

Another thing, if you have never been to the Coliseum in Oakland, there are some people in the RF bleachers that hold up signs that spell out Matsuiland every time Hedeki Matsui comes up to bat, and now, use them to cover their heads when birds fly over. They are pretty awesome.

No Angels players really wanted to toss a baseball to an A’s fan. Even though, the next day i did figure out a trick that didn’t help at all.

Other than that, most of the game was pretty humdrum, the Frozen Lemonade man completly avoided me during the second game and then, I realized that the game was tied. And then, the game went into extra innings. Then, Scott Sizemore cam up with runners on seond and third with two outs:

Then,

Scott Sizemore hit the ball in the Right-Center gap and yeah, the A’s won. Neighter outfielder threw the ball to me, they did something with it, no idea. But the A’s split the doubleheader. Overall, good day. On Sunday, I’m going to 80’s day with my dad and my friend Ryan . Looks like it should be a good day.

2 comments

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

