6/28/11 at O.co Coliseum

First of all, I want to thank my dad for a) taking time off of work to do this with me; b) buying tickets for thr Doubleheader; c) waiting out the rain delay; and d) being generally awesome in supporting me in this.
I left my house at 5:00 to be there for the 7:05 game, despite all the rain in the Bay Area. My dad and I got tickets for another game and then entered the Coliseum. I mean the O.co Coliseum, sorry. And it was a Free Parking Tuesday. Sorry, I mean Chevy Freey Parking Tuesday…

Well, when I got inside, and looked on the field, this is what I saw:

Oh, Joy! The tarp was being put on the field.

A few minutes later, the tarp is on:

The tarp was on the field and it was 6:15. Thing were not looking good for me and my dad. Nobody was on the field except for the groundscrew, so no chance toget any ball or autographs. I headed to hte team store to get a 2011 A’s yearbook, this was my first A’s game of the year, and then went back to check on the field. Still, a tarp.

Still tarped on. I went to get a burger from thsi awesome place at the coliseum called the Burger Shack. Best double cheeeseburger ever! (Other than In-n-Out, of course!) I watched from the LF foul pole. Then, off for the fish n chips for my dad. By that time, it was 6:45 and the game stars in 20 minutes. We went to sit in some random seats adn watched them start to take off the tarp:

Then, we went over to our real seats and watched them take the tarp off. Eventually the tarp was off, sometime around 7 o’clockish:

Then we spent 75 Minutes listening to 2 men siting a few rows behind us yell at the groundskeepers for not doing their job and how they were fired and a bunch of other crap. THe groundskeepers were doing 3 main things: 1) shoveling water out of the outfield; 2)spreading dry dirt on the infield and mixing it in with the wet dirt; and 3)standing next to the tarp for no good reason, as seen in the picture above.

Finally the game started at 8:17 or something like that and the first batter of the game, Emilio Bonifacio singled, and it was the ONLY hit the Marlins got in the entire game! Because of my seats, I was in a horrible ballhawking spot. Then, I realized in about the second inning that there were about 7 foul balls that had landed in the section 2 sections away. Of course no more foul balls came to us there for the rest of the game.

In the bottom of the the 7th, some kind man came up to my dad and I and asked if we wanted to sit in the first row right behind the A’s dugout. He was some awesome old guy that was leaving. My dad and I took the tickets and SCORE! We sat behind the dugout for the rest of the game.

Our view was amazing, we were sitting on the aisle and I was pounding on the top of the dugout. Gio was pitching amazing and yeah. After the A’s finished warming up in the top of the 8th, and Tye Waller threw me a warm-up ball.

Waller

My first ball of the day! I was just so glad that I didn’t get shut out and got at least one ball.

The game ended and the A’s won 1-0. Good day. I stayed around to see if I could get an more balls or get Kur Suzuki’s autograph, he was doing a postgame interview with Comcast SportsNet California. It was so cool, we could hear Kurt Talking, answering questions and it was awesome.

Then the ushers got mad at us for still being there and made us leave. Overall, good day!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: 4/5/12 Opening Day at PETCO Park « 7000 Coliseum Way
  2. Pingback: 8/20/12 at the Oakland Coliseum « 7000 Coliseum Way
  3. Pingback: 1/27/13 at A’s FanFest « 7000 Coliseum Way

Comment Please! Yeah Down There!

